The Year of the Pig! Issue 1


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 17th 2007
Published: February 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A pig's face!A pig's face!A pig's face!

Yes...a pig's face (with eyes) in a bag!
The Year of the Pig it is. But not just any old pig.....oh no. 2007 is the year of the 'Golden Pig'. Still looking into that. Unfortunately the pig in the first few pics seems to have had his years already. It's a very bizarre experience to see a pig's face (complete with eyes) staring at you grotesquesly from a vacuum pack. At first I thought I was looking into a funfair mirror - well, just an ordinary mirror.....Anyhow you can buy this porker's visage for about a fiver and then.....well.....fry it? Who knows. I was tempted to buy it, pull it over my head and run around screaming 'Monkey....Sandy...Trippythingy......I've been transported to the future!'. That would have raised a few looks.

Speaking of which. Where I live outside of Shanghai, a Western face is still a curiosity. It makes a change to be in a minority and it can be an uncomfortable experience at times when people are blatantly staring at you or point you out to their children....'look, a white person'. I generally find it quite amusing and usually greet them with a Ni Hao. On a bad day though....... What fascinates some Chinese when you're shopping are
The Pig's face counterThe Pig's face counterThe Pig's face counter

.......oh and one of those pig's faces please.
the contents of your shopping trolley. As if to say 'what can they possibly be buying in our shops?'. All this interest is mere inquisitveness and not meant in an offensive way. Cultural differences hey.

As it's Chinese New Year I've got some time off work and will take the chance to write about Shanghai and some of the things I'v seen and done here. I hope to get some pictures too of what happens at this holiday. Fireworks have already been going off for at least two weeks and I'm told that it continues through and beyond this upcoming holiday week. We shall see.......

I filmed some of the festivities from last night - check out the video clip in the top lefthand corner.



Advertisement



17th February 2007

Oh to be a porker
Interesting, very well compiled as are your other blogs. Look forward to reading more.
20th February 2007

Three little piggies
I will have these faces in my mind every time I eat roast pork!! .I feel I have been on your travels after reading your blogs Joe.
20th February 2007

Blast off
Superb Video of the fireworks..

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb