Bycicle galore...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 17th 2005
Published: June 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

6:30 am, Pudong International Airport, Shanghai.

Ahhhh...... Touchdown Pudong. The first thing i noticed about the airport is, it looks just like any other airport. KLIA is a palace in comparison so i shall not go into detail. I grabbed my borrowed knapsack (thanks aedewan for lending it to me) and headed out to meet yasmin (my sister that has been living in Shanghai for the past 6 months).

She told me that there are wierd things afoot in Shanghai and half jokingly telling me that there are people here who walk backwards. Naturally i didn't believe her, thinking that she was trying to take me for a fool.

In the car, on the way back to my sisters abode, something bad was brewing in my stomach and i needed to deposit it quickly. I mean this was really BAD. I never needed to shit so badly.

Even under extreme pressure, I noticed a couple of things about this colorful city..
- Everything is in mandarin
- They still use bamboo for support to build and renovate their buildings.
- There were people who actually walk backwards in the morning.
- There are far too many bycicles in this city.
- The traffic light is meant for decoration only and not directing traffic.
- Spitting out your mucus is a delightful activity.
- Pyjamas are as common as bycicles.
- The cleaning people here use twigs to clean the streets.

As soon as i reached my sisters house at The Lakeville, Xintiandi i bolted to the bathroom and deposited my share to the household.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



23rd June 2005

ppl walking backwards...
Salamun alayk brother Can u please clarify your statement about: people walking backwards? Also if you have photos mail, kindly show it to us bro. We'd like to see it.... :- Hope your stay in China bagus, inshallah
23rd June 2005

walk backwards?
hahaha i like the way you write man ... so pleasant to read. where are the pictures of men walking backwards!!!
19th July 2005

respect..
Man..Such courage..I envy your freedom to do such feats..but well to each his own I suppose.Though I do not know if this is just me or not whether I read it right or not but this is the way you spell "museum"..just fyi..not to be a dick..but still your travels do excite me and feel like doing so..although I am bound to loans and such..I find it most soothing..thanks keep it up..
14th September 2005

walk backwards. Yes we did!
Many elders walk backwards in the morning as a exercise. you can try it, it's good for your back. My father got his back hurted when he at the army 25 years ago, and used to have backache when it's raining. But after walk backwards every morning for three years, his back got cured, and didn't have any backache for more than 10 years!!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb