I made it safely to China.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
July 11th 2011
Published: July 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a long night of last minute packing, I was somewhat dreading the almost 15 hour flight ahead of me. I really love to travel but I hate the lengths it takes to get there. I stayed up till 1:00 am on Sunday packing, don't know why I do this every time and always end up regretting it. I woke up three hours later to get ready and head out to the San Antonio International Airport for my 7:00 am flight. The airport at 5:30 am was completely packed and chaotic and it didn't help my stress level.

After waiting in a really long line to check my luggage, the Delta attendant had to check to make sure my documents were correct and I was allowed to leave the country. He actually told me that my Chinese Visa had expired and I couldn't leave the country. It was a stomach sinking moment. This eight foot tall man handed me my passport and kind of wanted to dismiss me. I looked at it closer and had to explain to him that it didn't say "expiration date" of June 7, 2011 but "issued date" of June 7, 2011. He said, " The Chinese must have changed their visa...every country does it differently...oops".

Stamped my paper work, checked my bag and said, "Sorry didn't mean to give you a heart attack".

Boarded a short flight to Detroit, Michigan and waited to board a 4:00 pm flight direct to Shanghai. So for 3 hours I walked, walked and walked some more since I probably wouldn't get to do so on the long flight. I also ate mediterranean food, figuring I probably won't have access to hummus and grape leaves.

I made it safely, checked into a hotel around 9:00 pm and walked around Shanghai for about an hour. Came across a park and saw lots of people listening to music and dancing in the dark. Found an internet cafe and was happy to email everyone to let them know I made it to China safely!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb