Chinese Labor Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
May 3rd 2011
Published: May 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Monday the 2nd was a good vacation day. I slept in that morning and spent a couple hours studying mandarin. I discovered awhile ago that it can be pretty hard to motivate yourself to study recreationally.
My afternoon was completely open to whatever I wanted to do and I filled it. I went to the Shanghai Urban Planning Museum after lunch and learned a lot about the development of the city. Shanghai has a very interesting international history and I am enjoying my time here more and more. There is a city model on the 3rd floor which is possibly one of the largest scale models in the world. A high percentage of the city is modeled with balconies and overhangs around for spectators to see from all angles. The Shanghai Tower was in the model even though it has not been completed yet. I was tempted to tell people that I work for the designers.
That evening I went across the river to Pudong for more sightseeing. I started at the Museum of Science and Technology and moved my way north. That museum is an RTKL project and there are a few other interesting projects near it. It was late on a holiday so nothing was open. I am beginning to enjoy photography more than I used to. There is so much to explore in this city and I am going to have a very large photo library when I return home. Growing up in Kansas is a completely different life style and this international city is exciting to explore.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



3rd May 2011

Glad to get this
Always happy to read your thoughts. Thanks for continuing to write. We received Marcus's graduation announcement yesterday. Kansas laughed when she saw his picture and said "this picture makes him look short." Jose, Kansas, and I are going to Wichita this week end for a baby shower for them and Philip and Jennifer. Have you heard that Jennifer is pregnant again? Kansas and Jose have their baby's bedroom almost ready. Due date is June 15. On your next blog, you could talk about the weather where you are. Here in Dallas it is the rainy season and we have had hail also. Cooler than normal for early May. Has Diana figured out where she will attend college next year? Love, Aunt Susan
3rd May 2011

Don't like it too much.
You know your mother is not going to like hearing how much you like it there. She will be afraid you won't come back!
3rd May 2011

I am glad you are enjoying yourself and learning a lot there. I cannot wait to go back to see you!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb