Weekend # 17


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 8th 2011
Published: May 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday the 7th was another day of Shanghai cultural discovery. I talked to family online that morning and went out for lunch. I wanted to check out the largest park in the city. Century Park is Shanghai’s feature attraction for recreational parks. As I approached I was reminded that this weekend was the Rock Festival. There was a large section of the park blocked off for this event and you could hear the music from every corner of the landscape. I didn’t realize that visitors have to pay to enter but I didn’t want to turn around. I walked the full park two times besides the Rock section. It was fun to listen to the Punk Rock sounds of Chinese people screaming into the microphone. I was exhausted from walking the large park two times over and fell asleep pretty early that evening.


Sunday I decided to walk south because I had never explored that area of my neighborhood. I quickly learned how close I was to the expo site. I walked one block south and found fences surrounding Expo Pavilions. There was not a lot I could see because of the walls blocking things off but there are still some nice buildings standing that are totally empty. I also stumbled across a Chinese Guild Hall and museum. It was a nice museum sitting beside well kept traditional architecture. I believe it was updated to be an attraction while the expo was still happening. Now it is a free museum open to the public. I plan to go back when I have my camera on me. That night I had wanted to go out more and went back to the Pudong area. I walked up Century Ave and around the iconic skyscrapers of the city. I got another photo of the Shanghai tower so that I can compare the progress from a couple months ago.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

PudongPudong
Pudong

Nightlife Dance
PudongPudong
Pudong

Shanghai Tower Construction


16th May 2011

tree design
Interesting way to trim a tree. Thanks for sending the pictures.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb