Home again, home again


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dalian » Dalian
December 11th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

skateboarder skateboarder skateboarder

This kid was a model for our photography club a few weeks ago....
It's been a LONG time since I last wrote, and nothing I've written has really been of substance. This won't be any different. I've been living off-campus in Kai Fa Qualmost a month now (almost 4 months in China as of next week), and it's been great--I don't even mind the 35 minute commute. I take the light rail train into Jinshitan, which, first thing in the morning, isn't bad. I have the company of a few other teachers in the area, as well. The only thing I'm not fond of is commuting home on Mondays (when we teach until 4.40), but I'll get used to that soon. The apartment (as you will see) makes up for it all.

I've been approached twice in the past four weeks for "marketing" photos--I'm pretty sure these "reputable men" are up to scandal and no good. I've politely declined both times.

I'm off to Korea for the New Year's 4 day break to see two friends (one in Seoul and one in Jinju), which I'm very excited about....it's been 4.5 years since I was last there! I've been practicing my Korean on my students to make sure I'm ready--so far so good!
speeding truckspeeding truckspeeding truck

...as was this truck. We were practicing taking action shots.
Other than that, planning for my 5-week break is slowly falling into place. I have one flight booked to the Philippines from Singapore, but so far nothing to Singapore or out of the Philippines....the plan as of now is Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur and Borneo, for the Orangutan rehibilitation centre), Java and Bali in Indonesia, and then over to Singapore to check out the international school there (which I am considering moving to after my two years here is finished). Exciting!

As you can probably tell, I don't have much to say, but I thought it was about time to update. I'll try to write again soon--Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays, whichever you prefer!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

pretty couchpretty couch
pretty couch

I now have some really nice photos (one awesome original from a handy practicing photographer friend of mine that was given to me as a housewarming gift)
stairs looking downstairs looking down
stairs looking down

I've already fallen down these bad boys once...hopefully never again!


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb