Zhenjiang


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhenjiang
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hotel Room at the HantingHotel Room at the HantingHotel Room at the Hanting

Very happy to see a computer in here.
I got into Zhenjiang Friday around six pm maybe. It was quite sureal. Most know I love the amazing race and it is a lot like the show when they are in some big city/developing country. Drivers are crazy, tons of people and smog galore. Nothing like what I had seen before. And then there are the stares at me. It isn't common to see an "Americ" as I have heard myself being called in Zhenjiang. I went to dinner with three other teachers, one being the other American who leaves tomorrow. It was a yummy dinner. I learned that when you eat say duck for example, you spit out all the bones and what not onto the table. Pretty gross but hey when in China... I got back to my hotel and was terribley homesick, I debated waiting up a couple more hours so that I could talk to my family but decided since I hadn't slept for 49 hours (not an exageration) some sleep would do me good. Next morning I got to talk to some of the family and then learned my converter doesn't quit work with my straigtner. It really fried my hair. It looks like I
Key PowerKey PowerKey Power

You put your hotel key here and that allows power in the room. When you leave it all shuts off.
got shocked and feels terrible. I will have to buy a Chinese one instead. I finally ventured out. I missed the breakfast at the hotel since I was talking online so I went out to look for some. I found nothing I wanted and just ate a bar I brought instead. Walking around the city I felt awkward pulling out my camera to take pictures since no one else was. I would just pull it out quick and snap a picture not caring what it looked like. Just proof I'm here. I'm getting better and just keep reminding myself that they have no shame in taking a picture of things I think are rediculous in my country. I walked around the city or neighboorhood I am in and found what I think is the Jinhang Canal. There was a little path next to it that was nearly deserted. I was in heaven. There is always people around here so it was nice to have some "alone time" and "quite." Later I got some dumplings for lunch, exchanged money, talked to my parents, got a tour from Frankie (the American teacher who is leaving tomorrow) which was unbelievabley helpful, rode the
City CenterCity CenterCity Center

This is the center of the city. This is where the "square" is. Although it is actually a circle...
bus by myself and had pb an j for dinner. Sorry this is so long I will try not to write so much next time. I'm so excited to go to church tomorrow. Well if I get to go that is, some complications in it this week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

CanalCanal
Canal

I'm pretty sure this is the canal.
ReplicatesReplicates
Replicates

This same passage is all over this city.
More of the CanalMore of the Canal
More of the Canal

There was a family that was quite interested in me as I walked bye. They were cute.
On a BridgeOn a Bridge
On a Bridge

It was bright so please excuse my eye. I kind of fit in though right?
Camera TimerCamera Timer
Camera Timer

I realized most of my pictures with me in it would have me just holding the camera so I took advantage of my timer here.
Kid ActivitiesKid Activities
Kid Activities

I thought it was interesting that they have all these kid activities set up. (For a cost) Popping ballons with darts, painting, roller blading contests, mini cars and so forth. This is just a playground.
Couldn't ResistCouldn't Resist
Couldn't Resist

It looks typical asian and I just couldn't resist taking a picture.
City SquareCity Square
City Square

The "square" in downtown. Found shops near here with cute clothes and shoes. But no shopping for me.
Crossing the StreetCrossing the Street
Crossing the Street

Right before crossing the street. I just cross when others are and I won't get hit.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb