Getting Here


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Going On No SleepGoing On No SleepGoing On No Sleep

I had been awake for 24 hours at this point so please excuse this picture of me.
So my trip to China started off a bit rough. Only an hour before I was meant to be at the airport I realized my flight didn't exist anymore. Apparently it had been canceled back on April 2nd but I was never informed. After much stress, phone calls, doing some running through the airport and having Jamie's help, I had a ticket. I then only had 60 minutes to get through security and I made it even with an extra random security check they did on me. The flight was long, but I got to watch a lot of movies of my choice and they fed us more than plenty. Next to me on the plane was a little Chinese girl and her mom who now live in Vancouver. I talked to them for a bit and learned I have major issues with understanding English from a Chinese person. This fact has only been brough to a greater light since arriving in China. I was picked up by a teacher named Tracy at the Shanghai airport and we took a bus and then a train to the city I will be in, Zhenjiang. Shanghai is an enormous city. I have never
ShanghaiShanghaiShanghai

These weren't the tallest buildings.
seen anything like it. Puts New York City to shame. These pictures are terrible and don't do it justice but they are all I have right now. I didn't want to look like a tourist taking pictures and I was tired and didn't do a very good job.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

How I FeltHow I Felt
How I Felt

So on the bus to the train the trees covered all the homes and buildings. I tried to see past them and of coursethis tree wasn't covering much but they were elsewhere which was frustrating.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb