#21 Retiring Teacher preparing to teach in China (Leaving Coral Gables Sr. H.S.)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Taizhou
May 2nd 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A post card from ChinaA post card from ChinaA post card from China

A work of art from a Chinese photograper
To say good- bye to my friends and students at Coral Gables High School is one of the more difficult things I have to do. Though I'm very exited about the prospects of teaching in China, part of my heart will always be with the very special people, who brought challenge, joy, and satisfaction to my job as the German Teacher and Foreign Language Dept. Chair of our High School. There is no vocation I can think of, that provides such a sense of accomplishment with few regrets. Preferring the accumulation of good will, rather than the gathering of great wealth, a teacher's commitment has always been under-appreciated and under-valued by society, yet their dedication will become the catalyst for the success of future leaders, needed by all cultures, who seek progress and advancement and enlightenment for their people. Over the many years, almost every one of my collegues has examplified this kind of dedication and personal sacrifice, and I have admired and learned from them daily, having shared their joys and griefs, yet never regretting one day as a teacher. They are my family, my friends, my confidants, and will always be with me. I love them dearly, and will
2nd Period2nd Period2nd Period

Many in my Advanced German Class have been with me for 4 years. All, each in their own way, have brought joy to my life.
miss them deeply.

I hope many of my students will also find their calling in front of a class-room, and not be corrupted by the struggles and battles of a board-room. Through them, our pained country will become "a kinder and gentler nation", free of conflict and filled with compassion for the weak, poor, sick, old, and less privileged among us. That would be a nation to emulate, and those would be values for export. One should not expect other nations to embrace a democracy, based on the concept of "the survival of the fittest", and we must encourage the young to learn from our mistakes, for I believe, our generation has mis-managed much of what had been entrusted by previous generations. What we impart our children today might just re-kindle and repair America's soul, for they offer America's dreams and aspirations to a future world.

Over these many years, I have been blessed with wonderful and very special students, who will make a difference, and they will encourage a better world. Having played a small role in their development makes them each a "treasure". And how do you say good-bye to a "treasure"? With pain and great
Period 4Period 4Period 4

My level 2 class provided a year of great challenges, and I will miss each one.
difficulty. They are each the child I never had, who pre-occupied my every day, and made me a very lucky person. I will always remember them, and may they always think kindly of me.

Please share some of the great and eager faces in my class-room. Among them are our future teachers, future doctors, future leaders, future (and present !) mothers and fathers, in all they are the future engine of a proud and beloved America. They are our country's hope, ready to offer good will to the world, if only shown the way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

great companygreat company
great company

Many of the challenges from my period 4 can be admired in these good-looking faces.
Period 5Period 5
Period 5

My 5th Period Intermediate German Class always made my day. They are each great human beings, and were often polite listeners to my editorials on H.Hesse's "Siddhartha"
good reasons to become a teachergood reasons to become a teacher
good reasons to become a teacher

Each is the pride and joy of their parents, and the reason 5a.m. was never a chore to begin my school day.
pride and joypride and joy
pride and joy

pride and joy come in many faces
a lucky teacher, a proud studenta lucky teacher, a proud student
a lucky teacher, a proud student

class time often passed too quickly
memories are made of thismemories are made of this
memories are made of this

a lucky teacher again
finestfinest
finest

some of C.G.H.S.'s finest
a hobbya hobby
a hobby

off on my last flight over Miami
Miami BeachMiami Beach
Miami Beach

flying along Miami Beach
stilt-housestilt-house
stilt-house

one of the few surviving stilt-houses off the cost of Key Biscayne
Inter-coastal Inter-coastal
Inter-coastal

Atlantic Ocean to the left with Inter-coastal separating Miami Beach from Miami.
Port of MiamiPort of Miami
Port of Miami

water, sun, and fun
a wonderful place to livea wonderful place to live
a wonderful place to live

There are few days without sunshine over Key Biscayne.
a safe landinga safe landing
a safe landing

Let's do it again


4th May 2006

sometimes i wonder why you have impacted me so much, i've only had you for one year, yet you are one of the persons i admire the most... Schneider, you're such a wise person, and i think your most important and special quality is that you treasure all that most of us take for granted. Every single word you've ever said to me, or to our class in general, i've alwyas listened to, admired, and locked in my heard and hear under a label that reads "the best advice" in very awefull maria handwritting :-) i thank you for being a motivation, for being so open, so helpful and most of all, for sharing every single piece of everything you share with us...i think this, is your gift to the world, this is your treasure you give to us, and..."how do you say good-bye to a treasure?" :-) I didnt know you knew how to fly a plane... <3
4th May 2006

Hey schneider, wow! when i see these pictures and i read what you submited today, makes it extremely difficult to think that you're leaving in a few weeks. Then again i cant be greedy and not let someone else have the pleasure of having you as a teacher! beacuse you are by far the best of the best! :) well, see you in class, and thanks for referring to all of us like that even if we caused you a little trouble here and there! it means a lot!
4th May 2006

Get ready
Fear not - you can ready yourself for a whole cavalcade of admiring and only slightly bemused new students! Last Christmas, standing before five hundred students doing turkey impressions, arms flapping with accompanying 'gobble-gobble', only having a fraction of an idea what was going on but thoroughly enjoying it, could be described as both the highlight and nadir of my teaching in China so far.
5th May 2006

you've been the best
Hey Schneider! WOw!!! I can't believe that highschool is almost over in a few weeks. I am more than happy that you've been my teacher for 4 years...you have been the best and would always remain in my heart. I can say that i had the pleasure of having a teacher like you for 4 years, and although your job was only to teach us German, you have taught us more than that. You have tried to teach us that what matters most in life are not the material items a person possesses, but the internal characteristics. You've been for me when i needed a tough hand to tell me to get my life straight, and although at first it seemed to me like it didn't matter, now i look back at it and thank you for it. I needed someone to tell me all those things, and I've been doing better. It's going to be hard letting go of all those times that we shared in the classroom, with your discussions on politics, religion, society, and so forth. It has been a wonderful experience for me and it saddens me that it has come to an end. Nonetheless, this is just an end of a chapter and the beginning of a new one. *Hugs* p.s. Sorry for not being in class, as you know i've had IB and AP tests this whole week and will go on until the last day before graduation. hmm but, I'm going to make time. ta ta ~Danys
5th May 2006

from your 4th period.
Hi Hans, :) The pictures are great and so is this entry. I know in the future when I look at these class photos, it will bring back memories. Wow.... I didn't know that you knew how to fly a plane. Hmm yes, I also do hope that America will better itself in the future.
6th May 2006

hey
hey Mr. Schneider..I haven't see you in a while, hopefully I'll see you this monday..but aside from that..I want to thank you, thank you for being such a wonderful, caring, loving human being. Few people do what you do, and that's care so much for what's out there, specially for your students. Anytime you talked during our class, I always listened, because I know you are someone to listen, you are an exemplary person to listen to. You opened my eyes in so many ways, and showed me some great aspects of life. I know I was a pain in the butt, but dont let that get in the way of how much I admire you, I'll always, always remember you, for the best of reasons...thanks not only for being an awesome teacher, but also a great friend to me, and although i've only met you this year, you give me reasons to remember you for years to come..I wish you the best on your teaching expedition to China, and never, never forget how great you are. Wish you the best Mr. Schneider!..-Juan
7th May 2006

my favorite blog yet!
"I will always remember them, and may they always think kindly of me." haha... and our class, as a whole, would wish that YOU will always think fondly of US... cause we know we've also had our share of "sour" moments. :( but i hope those moments are outweighed by all the great moments we've shared :) much love to you
26th August 2009

Memories
As I look at these pictures, I go right back to my German and Spanish classes at RHS in the early 80's. I remember taking similar pictures with you, and I still have those pictures! I always looked forward to your classes not only because they were interesting and informative but also they were a blast! I loved hearing your stories about growing up in Heidelberg and also of your travels. I miss those days so much. Life was so much easier back then; no worries, no cares, just being carefree and still a kid. I am glad life has been so good to you. You haven't aged a bit!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb