arrival...almost...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
August 29th 2011
Published: August 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Here i am...almost. i made it to hangzhou but i will spend my first night in a hotel instead of my dormitory. But let me start at the beginning!^^ After 17h of flight and stay in Dubai i safely arrived at Shanghai PuDong International Airport at 3.20 pm local time. That was the easy part!:D After that it took me more than an hour to get through Immigration Customs Service. Combined with getting my luggage and finding my way to the Long Distance Bus Station long enough to just miss my bus to Hangzhou. Although, at first i wasn´t even sure IF i have really been at the right spot!:D First china-experience: a jerry-built house with at least one person (the ticket sales person) who could speak english and who offered me to wait in the waiting room...yeah...that was nice!:D a little bit dirty, a little bit smelly and a little bit sticky. Cause its really hot here! its raining, but its hot. semi-tropics i guess!^^ After another hour, it was 6pm by then, my "luxury-bus" (as says Lonely Planet) arrived. Well, it wasnt that luxury and it almost got me a heartattack (really wild driving style...after 45min i decided to close my eyes...) but i met a really nice guy, ali from bahrain, who is studying in hangzhou for one year now and speaks really good chinese!!! i want that too!!!:D anyway, he told me the registration office normaly closes at 5pm and i probably need to do that to get my key for the dormitory. so he offered me to go with him and an other student (she is from thailand) to his campus, which is approximately 20min from mine, and stay in a hotel. because it was raining cats and dogs ( i ve been COMPLETELY wet the second i got off the bus!) and really hard to find a cab ( took us almost another hour!) i decided to go with them. i didnt want to stand another hour looking for a hotel without any chinese skills, because there is really hardly anyone who speaks more than 5 words in english!:D i was wet, tired, stressed and a bit dizzy! so now i am spending my first night in a 4* hotel and thanks to ali (again!) i paid only have the price (negotiating is everyting in china - i will have to learn that!!) which makes it 32€. hot shower and nice, clean bed included!😊 brekkie as well. i am curious what that will be...
anyway, i really need to take a shower now and get some rest. tomorrow morning i will be heading to my campus. and even if i still havent realised i actually am in china, i cant wait for the campus in a few hours... its 11.45pm now, so whereever you guys are i wish you a good night/evening or day!😊 hope you are all well!!! sleep tight - dont let the bed bugs bite!😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb