Day 28 - Time for the bribe!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
March 18th 2010
Published: March 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke early to go on my river boat tour to Yangshuo. I was really pleased that it looked like it was going to be a dry day but it was still cold outside. As we waited for the main bus to take us to the boat jetty, I noticed there were some swimmers in the river that runs around Guilin! Not just one crazy person but several... it was making me cold just watching them but I guess its just another crazy Chinese exercise craze. Not quite sure how shivering in a freezing river is healthy but maybe I am just now enlightened.

Nearly crashed into an army truck driving on the wrong side of the road. Emergency brakes at the ready! Aparantly they do that quite a lot just because they can.

Got on the boat and it was a lot bigger than I expected and had a downstairs indoor viewing bit and then an upper outside bit. I managed to bag a window seat for "take off" but we were soon allowed up on deck.
I am amazed how the boat stayed afloat as there was only about 1m of water in most places of the river as it hadn't rained all winter. I could write for ages about the boat trip as I loved it! I took loads of photos and it was one of the best parts of my trip so far. The sun came out and I could finally take my hoodie off!

Managed to get the "money shot" ... i.e. took a photo of the landscape that appears on the back of a 20 yuan note.

Finally arrived in Yanshuo about 5 hours later and I was so pleased I had done the trip as although it was fairly expensive, I had a really relaxing day, free lunch, free beer and got a ride to Yangshuo.

I went to the hostel where I was meant to be meeting my friends I had met in the hostel in Guilin but they had left a note saying they would be late. It was cool as it gave me chance to wonder around. I had an icecream as it was properly hot by this point. Hadn't thought to put on sunscreen so was burnt on my face and arms by now... not cool.

I then tried to find the post office and couldn't even though its a really small place. So I asked a lady in the kodak shop and she pointed across the road to a stand selling postcards that has a postbox too. It was a bit strange but I was desperate to get my postcards off as I knew I woudn't have time in the morning. As I walked off I had a horrible feeling that they would never get to their destinations and when I finally stumbled across the real post office and asked if there was a post box in that area, they confimed that it wasn't a real one. I went back to the stall and looking at the "China Post" box again, it was clearly just an old box from somewhere. Although he may have posted them himself at a later date I didn't want to take the risk. So I asked that he opened it (with sign language and an angry face of course). He shrugged his shoulders and I presume he said there was no way in! I then produced a 10 yuan note and funnily enough he understood this and managed to find a key! I got my postcards posted in the right place and felt pleased that bribery still existed in this part of the world. So Mum.... that should be your most prized postcard...

Met my friends later and had a cheap dinner and I then caught the bus back to Guilin with Pete who was coming back to sort out his visa situation. After the fairly long bus journey we decided beer was in order. I'm glad we stayed up as we got to celebrate the hostel managers birthday with lots of yummy cake and I met a girl who had moved to Australia from Carshalton of all places!!!! Crazy! She was thinking of moving back so that will be strange to meet up again! Went to bed far too late for my early start but hey ho.

Advertisement



26th March 2010

Hi Helen Now I know where the beautiful scene is on the postcard you sent, Yanshou, the info on the back, was more of a title "The Tune of Morning". Five hours floating through such wonderful scenery (googled it too), with lunch and beer provided would be a divine experience, you deserved the relaxation after being on the go most days. Even I feel relaxed just looking at your postcard and imagining the calmness of the water and the boat cutting through. xxx
26th March 2010

Finally catching up with your blogs! A bit baffled though why you singled me out as the one who would treasure a delivered-by-bribery-postcard - perhaps you've just put me in the properly weird box now! :-) You're comments do prove just what a small world it now is - next time I expect to hear of how you've met someone from Penn in Wolverhampton! Lots of Love Moot! xxx

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb