Day 27 - Monkeys and the Macarena


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
March 18th 2010
Published: March 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke early again and set off to the seven stars park which was an easy 15 min bus journey. It was a really lovely park and I set off straight away to climb one of the peaks. I took it easy climbing the many many steps but was rewarded with an amazing views and already the sun was trying come out. There was of course, even right at the top of this hill, a man doing some stretching exercises (big thing in China). Another man joined him later to do some vocal exercises too... lovely!

I then walked around and finally came across the monkeys the signs had all been warning about. I was cautious as getting attacked by a monkey wasn't really at the top of my agenda so I sat quietly and just watched them for a while in the clearing in the trees. I noticed they were actually scared of any humans walking around and would purposefully walk away from any tourists. When it went quiet for a bit I managed to get a really good video of them as by this point they weren't bothered by me and wandered only a few meters from me. It was really cool and I could have sat watching them for hours.

Saw more of the parks attractions, such as dragon cave and then wandered back into Guilin centre for lunch. After I paid to go up into the two pagodas in town. They are in a lake and to get to the second one you have to go in and underwater tunnel that connects it to the basement of the first. One of them is the tallest copper building and looks very impressive from the outside but the first one had all sorts of different wood detail on each floor going up so that was actually my favourite. Still didn't find any hand sani and I'm now convinced China has none anywhere!!!

"Touched base" at the hostel and then after having dinner there I headed out to see the lights around the lakes lit up. It really was lovely to see. Strangest thing I saw was a group of people dancing along to the macarena. Exercising in parks is a big things here and you see all sorts but this was one of the funniest things as everyone was taking it very seriously.... so tempted to join in! hahaha!

Also got offered boiled ducks feet by reception when I got back.... I took a look but decided that although I knew what I would be eating (an unusual thing in China) they were not for me!

Advertisement



26th March 2010

One of my favourite pubs in Kiddy is the Severn Stars. If I did my vocal excercises up a peak, I would cause an avalance!!! John and I like a bit of wood, so your fav pagoda would have been ours too. I love the idea thai chi and excercising as the chinese do, it seems so relaxing and medative, it is really good for you too. You should have joined in the Macarena but we would have wanted you videoed to!! I can remember Ben's 12th/13th birthday party, was Macarena out then? And the kids played that over and over, dancing the dance and giggling, the song drove me mad!!! Helen, you would have been quackers to have tried the duck's feet :)

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb