Day 26 - Turtle necklace in a cave


Advertisement
Asia
March 13th 2010
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke early to brave the showers. Water was nice and hot and it was generally a good shower but as soon as the water went off it was freezing while you were getting dry. Brrr! Still wasn't raining outside so I was a happy lady.

Set off to find the bus to the Reed Flute Caves and found it. It was a really nice journey out of the city and I started to realised why people love Guilin. Caves were really impressive and although I went in with a big group I managed to go off on my own quite a lot and I really enjoyed it. Half way through there was a room off to the side which all I could work out was that you had to pay 5 yuan extra to go in and there were free hot towels inside. I was a bit intrigued as to what was in there so I paid and went in. I was then greeted by one of the staff standing over this massive turtle on a pillow surrounded by people sticking money on its shell and the lady distributing necklaces from its back. It must have been for good luck or something but it was really random and I really didn't like watching it. Then round the corner was another load of what they claimed to be "thousand year old turtles" that apparantly lived in the cave. People were stroking them and stuff it was really really strange.I was then given a hot towel to clean my "turtle hands" I suppose (although I didn't touch them) and I carried on the tour. It was so horrible especially as everyone seemed to think it was normal and was more interested in getting their lucky necklace than the turtle itself who was just plonked on a table.... very strange.

I then climbed a hill (slowly) and got a great view of the area. Managed to squeeze back on the bus to Guilin and went in search of lunch. I usually try and head to where there are a lot of locals as that is always a good sign but everywhere seemed empty as it was all just set up for the tourist summer crowds. FInally found a street stall which looked busy and settled for this stange hot meat bun thing... it was tasty tasty!!! Then bought some biscuits from one of the many french type bakery things and they were lovely too. Transfered some photos to DVD and had a wonder round the town then headed back to the hostel. I had had a really good day and I was definatly enjoying China now.

Advertisement



15th March 2010

Just read your last few blogs - a good activity for a Monday morning! Some of your accounts probably provide a bit too much information, but I'm glad you are having a good time now. Agree with you about the peculiarness of the turtles in a cave - just shows what different attitudes we all have towards animals. Lots of love Moot xx

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb