Day 29


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
March 18th 2010
Published: March 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After my experience on Chinese trains and the lack of tickets available I decided to book a cheap flight to Guangzhou... I know I know, it's not exactly very eco friendly but I was a desperate lady. I'm fairly scared about flying so the fact I chose to fly just shows how desperate I was. Flying to Hong Kong would have been easier but a lot more expensive so I still decided to stick to the origional plan sort of.

Instead of 9 hours it would only take 55mins and Chinese trains are expensive so worked out nearly the same price amazingly.

I woke early so I got to the airport in plenty of time. Unfortunately my tummy had reacted badly to something from the day before which made the thought of my 40 minute bus journey to the airport not a good one. Popped a few pills and crossed my fingers. The journey was even longer because of road works and the road very very bumpy. Took about an hour in all so although my medicine had worked, I had drank so much water and stuff to stop myself becoming dehydrated I was desperate for the loo. Sorry for maybe giving too much information but at the time, this was the most important thing going on in my life so I feel that I had to mention the trauma!

Finally made it to the airport and after a sprint to the ladies with my big bag I was good to go. Tickets and security were fine but then had to wait ages for my flight during which time I had to watch planes take off and land lots and lots. I was so nervous and very tearful... I started to think that the train would have been a better option. Although it was about 2am UK time I phoned Dan for some reassurance and bless him, he answered and wearily tried to calm me down. Thanks hun, it was much appreciated!

Flight was terrible and although I had a row to myself, there was so much turbulence during the flight the seatbelt signs never went off and they were only letting a limited amount of people go to the loo. Not great but I survived and didn't cry too much during take off.

Managed to find the right bus stop with the help of lonely planet and some good sign language. Headed off through Gangzhou to the the east airport. Made it to the station only just and after being directed here there and everywhere, I just wanted to get out. You can't pay for anything in China by credit or debit card which is something I forgot to had to got back downstairs and up again before I could get my train ticket. Finally got to the Hong Kong train waiting room and didn't have to wait long before being called to Chinese immigration. They let me out!!! Hurrah, I was free! Got on this really nice train and headed to Hong Kong! Hurrah!!! I finally started to see different ethnic groups for the first time in ages, obviously all doing business stuff. It was nice as not only was I not the odd one out but it felt a bit more normal and felt a bit more like the UK.

After an hour and a half we arrived in Hong Kong and it was so strange. All the sign were in English and all the announcements were in English too. It wasn't even American English but proper British accent and everything!!! Sorted out my travel pass and headed off in search of the hostel! Directions were a bit crazy so it took way longer than it should and it was boiling in comparison to China so with my bag and stuff it was a bit of an effort! I was a bit scared when I got in the lift that I had made a bad decision about my hostel but as soon as I had got to the fifth floor and walked into the hostel door I was very relieved! It was bright and clean and there was a smiling face behind the counter.

I checked in and searched for food (I settled for a Maccy D's as I was too tired to care). I was going to go off and see the light show as i had time and wanted to make the most of my days but I started to feel a bit queezy and light headed so I decided to go back and have an early night. Glad I did as I met a really cool girl called Jo who had been away for 2 years working in Oz and was from London. Had a good chat and arranged to meet up and see the light show the next day.

Beds were really really comfy and room was very cheap for Hong Kong - even for an 8 person dorm. Very pleased to have left China.

Although I had a really good time right at the very start (pre illness) and when I was in Guilin, China isn't the best. The people once you get to know them, like the ladies in the hostel in Guilin, are so lovely it's great but most of the time I don't think they really like foreigners. The constant noise of spitting in the street drives you nuts and I'm talking proper hocking back all the stuff in their lungs nose and throat for about 15seconds and then spitting. The shouting and the pushing is hard to deal with all the time and the crazy traffic and scooters that don't stop at lights is just dangerous. There is mess everywhere, even out in the countryside and the toilets and lack of hand sani are not a good combo. Its such a strange place and I'm glad i made it. its probably one of the hardest places to deal with as a backpacker, not just because of the language barrier but just because everything is done differently with a different mind set. The food also is not as good as I hoped. It is cheap but so random.... sounds awful and very uncultured but I prefer the Western style stuff we get in the UK. It might be fake Chinese but at least it is edible.

There are things I really like about China such as the crazy supermarkets, the little silent electric scooters, beautiful scenery and the old colourful buildings (new ones are almost always rubbish). The shops are open mega late and everyone is very hard working. There are very few homeless people and although most people are relatively poor, everyone seems fairly happy (even though they can't use Facebook... shocker!!!) I really want to go back and do the wall but I would not say it is my number one holiday destination for the future. Plus after writing this, they probably won't give me a visa again! hahaha!


Advertisement



26th March 2010

Really interesting comments Helen, I couldn't hack the hocking, or the noise and clutter. From your photo's I would say the landscape is the big draw. Well if you can tackle China on your own and navigate yourself from, train to airplane, to bus to tuk, tuk, you can tackle anything!
26th March 2010

Message for Dan
Thank you Dan, for looking after H in the middle of the night - I think I owe you drink now. :-) Denise

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb