One more day in Zhuhai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhuhai
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Well, we have one more day in Zhuhai. Today we finished the last of our lesson presentations and tomorrow is our TEFL exam. For those of you not savvy in the lingo, TEFL stands for 'teaching english as a foreign language'. Then tomorrow afternoon we receive our TEFL for China certificates. We leave for Shenzhen on Thursday morning. Then we still have three more glorious 'hotel' days left before receiving our assignments and moving into our apartments. I can't wait! My roommate is kind of driving me crazy. Last night she came in at 2:30am a drunk, loud, obnoxious, vomiting mess. I had to sleep with my iPod on so I couldn't hear her heaving. So gross. This is why I never lived on campus while I was in college. I'm considering requesting a room to myself in Shenzhen. At this point, I don't care how much extra that might cost me. I'm anxious to settle into a new place and start working again. Although I'm really nervous about teaching. It's so nerve racking to think about standing in front of sixty or seventy elementary students and keeping them entertained and learning for 45 minutes straight 15-17 times per week. But I think it'll be fun.

Let's see, what else is there to tell: Um, coverage of the Beijing Olympics is still ongoing and continuous. No, really. Oh! And infomercials are a total riot here. Apparently there is a portable steam bath that will not only relax tired and aching muscles, but also facilitate weight loss and make boobies bigger! Soap operas are the main form of television. We do get a couple of english language channels (BBC, CCTV) and it’s really interesting to watch non-American news to hear what the world really says about us. It rained today. And when I say it rained, I mean it r-a-i-n-e-d! I’ve never seen rain like that. And the thunder! I’m hoping the weather clears up a bit tomorrow so I can take some more pictures before we leave.

That’s all for now. Chelsea leaves for Italy today, so everyone wish her luck and don’t forget to check out her blog!


Advertisement



2nd September 2008

good morning / evening
It's funny, I'm usually reading these when you send them out because it's around 4am here and I'm up with Aiden....again. It's fun to read when nothing else is going on! Sounds like u are really having a blast. Good luckwith your own hotel room :)

Tot: 0.409s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.2295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb