Nunchuk potpourri....fo sho!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen
September 19th 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Sexy Sink Repairs 92 secs
Sexy Sink RepairsSexy Sink RepairsSexy Sink Repairs

Plunging the sink yielded a coin, flecks of black "ick" and hair. Ewwww.......! LOL
I just couldn't believe my eyes! I had heard shouting outside, and the volume of the voices was certainly escalating. I wanted to see what all that ruckus might be about...of course, DUH, the men involved were all speaking rapid Chinese (well, let's face it, even non-rapid Chinese is a problem, lol). Peering below from my shower window I saw two of the guards from our apartment complex arguing loudly with a young man. The shouting quickly escalated into shoving! OMG, was I really seeing/hearing this? WHACK!! Then the guards commenced with their nunchuks (no idea whether this is spelled properly, lol) on the poor fellow! The victim howled and sprinted the hell outta there, guards hot on his heels, slashing at the air with the wicked weapons! Yelling and hitting and fighting. Yikes!! I don't know if he was some n'er do well or what, I just know that I hope to never be "nunchucked"!! It was quite the excitement.

It has been hotter, much hotter lately it seems. Yestereday, classes went more smoothly and I enjoyed my day immensely. Finally, I thought. Sigh. Yeah, well, today not so much. The pace of change here is almost too much
The CookThe CookThe Cook

Attempting pancakes in our little kitchen.
to bear. Firstly, a bunch of changes to the student roster. A new class director and then our air conditioning and power went out at the beginning of the second class. The temperature within the classroom soared from 25 degrees to 30 degrees in what seemed like a matter of seconds. And believe me, I was having trouble already in 25 degrees, never mind 30! ACK! I was cooking and even the children had sweat on their upper lips. And let me just say that the Chinese in Xiamen hardly SHOW the heat, whilst Joyce and Dawna and I have sweat rolling down us, our hairlines slick at our necks, and our skin become sticky with persperation and salt. It's quite demoralizing to leave the apartment all clean and fresh and looking good and then the sweating begins and quickly destroys any of your beauty preparations. I know I keep harping about that, but jeez! It's hard being ugly! LMAO! I was so embarassed yesterday wearing a pretty sky blue cotton blouse that was wrinkled. I would NEVER do that at home...but with no iron, and my request to the school for one delayed and delayed, I am trying hard
The first one is always a dud!The first one is always a dud!The first one is always a dud!

Hmmmm. DO OVER! LOL We threw this one away and eventually discovered that woks make great vehicles for cooking pancakes. Who'da thunk it? *smile*
to be patient. HA! Those of you who know me well, know how difficult this would be proving for me! LOL I really don't have much patience. So, I just try not to think about it too much. So "not thinking" about what I cannot control and giggling when I feel overwhelmed. Those are my coping mechanisms! LOL

Right now, I am sitting in the apartment on a Sunday afternoon. It is early morning Sunday for those of you back home. I finished my teaching shortly after noon, having started at 8:30 this morning. I am nice and cooled off, and plan to go to an evening yoga class called de-stress yoga. I cannot wait. I hope it turns out to be what I think it is! I will shower up there and head home after feeling relaxed and loose. I promised my 2 other amigas that I would either prepare spaghetti or pancakes/bacon for supper, so I guess they can choose what sounds best.

I am kind of worried. I cannot seem to get any money out of the cash machine this past couple of days and am down to my last 70 yuan or $10.00. I need to fill up my bus pass soon and also buying groceries is hard when you're broke, LOL, so I hope that I can make it work soon. I may have to get a cash advance on my pay, which is not supposed to come for at least another 2 weeks. I will never make it two weeks on 70 yuan.

We were having a plumbing issue with our sink and my roomie, Dawna put on our sexy red rubber gloves and commenced plunging the sink.......OMG! Coins, and chunks of black "ick" and hairballs....spewed forth. We then poured 2 kettle fulls of boiling salted water down the sink to get it draining better. We resorted to Chinese Drano last night....but.....the problem is that we cannot read ANY of the instructions......ROFLMAO! We hope we administered it correctly! Fools! We poured a bunch of the Drano crystals down the pipes and then poured boiling water on that. Hope it works! LOL

We blew a fuse the other night and lost power to our air-conditioners and our water heaters for showers. Lemme tell ya, we sure didn't want to be without our "cool" (Ok, I will admit, we were starting to panic JUST a bit....) so we found the fuse box and I drew the short straw and hoped I wasn't going to electrocute myself by flicking, what I was GUESSING, was the fuse. Obviously, I survived. Sweated that one a bit, though, I admit. LOL

We are going to watch a movie on Dawna's computer so it's over and out pour le moment!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb