Arriving in Beijing - our version of 'Groundhog Day', LOL


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
October 17th 2011
Published: October 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ni hao! (that's 'hello' in Chinese) - Almost time for me to hit the sack - this has been one of the longest days of my life - geographically speaking, it's just a very long way from Alaska to China!!!! Long flights - time zone changes - and so on - creating one day running into the next, running into the next. We'd sleep on the plane - wake up - have some food - back to sleep - wake up again - stopped briefly in Russia for fuel - back to sleep - wake up again for.........breakfast? Really? Weird.

After a well deserved nap this afternoon (and for many of you who know me, I don't 'do naps'!), when the alarm went off, I had no idea where I was, what day it was, etc. - but all is well now.

So, we landed in Beijing at 7 a.m. this morning - everyone changed their watches and got ready for a day of leisure here - great way to transition. Saw the most incredible sunrise up in the skies - gorgeous - makes one happy to be alive.

We had the best service getting through the airport, on to our tour buses, and over to the Regent Hotel, where we are staying. And talk about a hotel room - WOW. Double WOW, actually! I've travelled a LOT - THIS is a gorgeous and comfortable hotel room - thanks, Ben! (photos below)

One of the reasons for such great service is because of Jenny May, Managing Director of DMC - the Destination Management Company. Great team - they know their jobs and do it well - makes all the difference in the world.

It's a perfect day in Beijing for me - temps around 18 degrees Celsius - YES! Sun is shining. We were all treated to a superb buffet in the dining room - I would have taken pictures except that, by that point in time, I was running on 'fumes' (even falling over my own feet!) - so wasn't thinking too clearly about blog stuff then. Had a nap, a shower, a walk outside - finding .........wait for it........STARBUCKS! (Thanks, Brenda!) - Really enjoyed that latte, let me tell you!

Brenda and I enjoyed a walk around the hotel 'neighborhood' - there is another hotel across the street that one of our fellow passengers highly recommended we 'visit' - and so off we went. Breath-taking (pictures below) - lovely architecture and great character.

I wanted to write some updates (and birthday notes) on Facebook this afternoon - but Facebook is not accessible in China - not allowed! Once again, we must always remember to cherish our freedoms.........

Brenda (Tour Director - who was a Tour Leader with me in '07), Robert (Tour Leader, who was a passenger in 2010) and I had the pleasure of dining with Jenny May tonight - another terrific food experience at the Regent. I had salmon and green beans 'to die for' (quit laughing all of those who know me so well! Yes, I had the salmon!) - great conversation - called it a night! We were all tired.

So, a brief blog visit tonight but stay tuned because tomorrow is a very FULL day - Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, and more. I can hardly wait - and I can't wait to share it with all of you.

Thanks to those of you who have posted notes - I share with the passengers and we are delighted you are living vicariously through us.

See you tomorrow! (Good night, Mom - I love you!)

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

So bright and beautiful!So bright and beautiful!
So bright and beautiful!

Starbucks is just out off the patio and to the right - happiness for me!


17th October 2011

Groundhog Day
Sooo here i am back in the good old reliable U S OF A....flipping through Facebook and getting ready to tweet #DWTS. (Enough Said) The hotel looks #GORG, I love the glass bathroom wall?! If The sheets are as cozy as the bed looks I am officially envious. SHOP SHOP SHOP SHOP if you have time . The sleepy where am i's will soon be in the past...(until you come home) Enjoy every hour of every day and continue to take a gazillion pics. Something about the two sleeping buddies....LOVE THAT SHOT!!!!! Peace. Staci
17th October 2011

Beijing
Hello everyone!! Have a great time. I have been in China. I lived there for a year. Make sure you go the Tienamen Square and the Temple of Doom. Its an amazing country. Enjoy yourselves!!!
17th October 2011

so excited!
I am so happy to be travelling vicariously with you Pat...am now more determined then ever to find out how to become one of the wealthywomen!!!
17th October 2011

Great Blog
Thank you for the great blog with all the great photos. The whole team have a lot of hard work ahead taking care of all the passengers on the tour. Thank you Pat, Brenda, Robert, Mary and Robynn. Curtis and I are holding the fort here at the office. Lance (Travel Guild Staff)
17th October 2011

hello
Looking forward to traveling with you around the world Pat. My second trip. Hello to Len & Barbara.
17th October 2011

Wonderful
you are off to a glorious start - enjoy each moment
17th October 2011

Fabulous Trip
Thank you so much for sharing the beautiful photos with us. We wait anxiously for each update, as we feel we are traveling along electronically with you. Try you best to have a good time Pat!!!!! Bill and Sylvia
17th October 2011

WOW!!
What more is there to say? This is so exiciting. What an awesome way to travel!
17th October 2011

Enjoy for me too !
I was with you on the 2006 trip, so I am enjoying your report very much. Wish I was with you this time too.
17th October 2011

Looking forward to all your blogs Pat. If the trip is anything like the one in 2007 it will be amazing. Enjoyed the photos of Beijing...keep them coming. Have a wonderful trip. Sandra
17th October 2011

Starbucks................
Is there Irish in your blood, Pat!! What luck to have a Starbucks just outside your hotel. Oh, by the way, the pictures are wonderful..................especially the Starbucks cup! lol :) Hugs Pearl
17th October 2011

Very exciting
Magnificent photos. Can barely imagine the length of flight. Must be quite the culture shock you are experiencing today. No Facebook - yes we need to embrace our freedom of our own choice. Looking forward to your next post and photos! Hi to all - hope you are all rested and enjoying your adventure.
17th October 2011

Your trip
It all sounds fantastic. I love your blogs. Thanks You and Louann and your Starbucks.!!
17th October 2011
Robin - so content on the plane

Hey Robynn
the song goes.... "whistle while you work" not ... "smile while I'm sleeping"
18th October 2011

Pictures
Love your pictures Pat. Sounds like quite a gruelling long leg on the trip, but that's likely your longest day and it will be smooth sailing from here on in. Wish I was there.
18th October 2011

WOW 
Wow!! That hotel looks wowza!!! Looking forward to more places!!! SHMILY (granny Pat)
18th October 2011

Great blog - as always
Pat, always enjoyable to read your blog
18th October 2011

Muriel Williams: Have a great Groundhog Day!!!
Muriel nous pensons à toi. Est-ce que le voyage en avion c'est bien passer? Aurais-tu préféré crueser un trou dans la terre (comme dans les cartoons) pour te rendre?!?!?!?!? Prends beaucoup de photos de ton merveilleux voyage. Sylvie, Philip et Marc
18th October 2011

Do I really want to know where you were sitting when you took the picture in Beijing!!!!! Nice to see the pictures from Anchorage and to see so many familiar friends as well as the three of you with Jenny. She truly is a gem. The best is yet to come as you all know. I was lucky enough to have been able as you all will be to climb the wall. It's amazing and an unbelievable experience to see something that can be seen from space. Magical isn't enough. Koodos Ben.
18th October 2011

1st day pictures
What a wonderful way to wake up to a sunrise, beautiful and elegant furnishings etc in the hotel. enjoy your day. , mary
18th October 2011

Groundhog Day
Hi Happy Pat! I could take groundhog day if I was in a hotel like that with Starbucks that close. Looking forward to details on your tours!
18th October 2011

If this is the beginning just imagine what is coming!
It is great to see you off to a good start. I am watching for Brenda Bergen and know that she is going to have a good time with all of you. Lucky people to have her as a tour director. You are all in good hands!
18th October 2011

If this is the beginning just imagine what is coming!
It is great to see you off to a good start. I am watching for Brenda Bergen and know that she is going to have a good time with all of you. Lucky people to have her as a tour director. You are all in good hands!
18th October 2011

OMG
Pat, you are so blessed to be on this journey! I'm holding gratitude on your behalf! I love these photos, what are you using to take them and upload? How Exciting!!!!! I'll be stalking you..... :-) Have fun BIG TIME!!! xoxoxo
19th October 2011

Wish we were there!
Enjoying viewing your trip from New Zealand - Say hi and lots of love to Elisabeth Hopkins - Rosie and Brian
20th October 2011

This post is really very nice and these pics are beautiful. Beijing is really a very nice place and its view is very nice. I am also going there in Nov. Month. Will you suggest me Most Attractive place in Beijing. www.daytonabeachquartershotel.com

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb