More Change: Better Life


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 7th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

That the is cry and literal postering of Beijing. Everywhere you look you see "out with the old and in with the new"... everything is about immediate change with no thought and absolute disregard for the future and its consequences. This attitude effects everything... buildings, lifestyles, business, etc. My head is spinning.

As many of you now know my company has restructured. Oh! But I have one and a half months left in my contract, so how can it change you might ask. Well, I asked this as well, and the reply I received was a blank stare and "This is China" response. (Of course). Haha, why did I even bother? So everyone now has been demoted to a part time position, which means I now work 10 hours a week and earn 4800/month. Ahhhhhhh!!! Overall, this is a decent wage for part time, but I seriously need to make about 10000/month to reach my savings goal (which is the point of living/working here). Siiigh. Oh well. After teaching my "kids" so much about positive thinking and keeping a bright attitude/perspective, I am doing my best to consider this as being a good opportunity to find something better and hoping for a good position to open up for me. Perhaps this will finally allow me to find sometime to get a Chinese tutor... because the separation I feel between me and the locals due to a lack of communication is really frustrating me!

I introduced one of my students to Swedish meatballs! Oh yes, Lindsie has found IKEA. The irony of life is that I continue to live in surroundings furnished with affordable Swedish goods. The bonus being that I went on a day they had a big sale and I now am the proud owner of some bedding. That's right, I even sleep in my room now, after nearly two months of crashing on the couch with Emily. She is quite jealous of my boudoir now and hopes to venture out herself to finally organize her room to make it livable. I had a grand adventure at the Beijing IKEA and really good fun with my student. We were having a class the day before my day off from teaching where we were discussing Western food and I asked my students what they would live off if they were forced to eat Western for the rest of their lives (an idea that horrified many of them!) One responded by saying Swedish meatballs, which threw me for a loop and I went momentarily crazy as I screamingly asked her where she had sampled such marvelous cuisine? I then was informed of IKEA's location and one student who also had the next day free offered to meet up and drive me there. Bliss! Joy! Rapture!

Two of my Irish friends that I went to the Beijing Zoo long ago with returned to Beijing for a couple of days before they flew home. They had been in Japan and were eager to tell me of their travels and meet up again. One of the days I took them to what is probably the most famous pizza joint in Beijing. It's called the Kro's Nest and they serve what is seriously the largest pizzas I have ever seen. The boys were bragging that no pizza was too big for them and that they could probably polish off one a piece... to see their eyes pop out upon the arrival of our pie was a joy indeed. Our medium sized table was completely taken over by this pizza and you had to knife and fork it, as the slices were too massive to handle by hand. Thus, our plates teetered precariously at the ends of the table as we greedily dug into this delicious feast. I really wish I had my camera on me to document the sheer size of that marvel. We later went to an Irish bar as there was a rugby match showing that they were desperate to see. As I had nothing better to do, I tagged along, ready to be surrounded by screaming, passionate Irish - cheering on their team. In the end I actually got quite into the match and was yelling along with everyone; overjoyed when the Lions won! Everyone in the bar thought I was Irish (this happens quite a lot) and I was very amused and glad to "fit in".

Another irony is that I have accumulated a small amount of new clothes (finally) but they are not "made in China". Oh no. Apparently that only works when I live at home... here (in China) I am attired in clothes made in L.A. (American Apparel) and Bangladesh (H&M). I totally scored at both stores on the sales rack, and for that I am well pleased. It's been torture in the blistering/muggy heat to have nothing appropriate to wear. I have been snitching various items from my roommate, and been feeling quite guilty over that. All is well now however and it's my little private joke to be wearing such contradictions. It entertains me at least.

Our internet woes are nearly over! It was a long and sordid process I tell you! We had a parade of professionals over a long period of time come and attempt to hook up our internet. This proved to be a Herculean feat, and also an impossible one. My frustrations levels were bordering on dangerous (way past the red zone) so that every time another arrived I would put myself on a time-out and hide in my bedroom, collapsed on my bed in despair. When frustration boarded upon the ridiculous I finally snapped. The last gentleman who failed us left without success, so I plopped myself in front of the machine and willed computer smarts to be with me. It is common knowledge that my prayers are largely dedicated to the running and maintaining of electronics and machinery, and I must say the phones of heaven were a' ringing as I stared blankly into the screen... two minutes later we were connected. I kid you not. That being said, I cannot brag too loudly as the speed we obtain is frighteningly slow... but there is a connection. That is something.

What I desire most in the world right now is a picnic. I really must scrounge around and search for a proper and fitting location for one.

A gem is not polished without rubbing, nor a man perfected without trials. - Chinese Proverb


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The Living RoomThe Living Room
The Living Room

Yes, that is the couch where I formerly lived.
The KitchenThe Kitchen
The Kitchen

Note our charming wooden drying rack!
The BathroomThe Bathroom
The Bathroom

Handy wee washing machine located to the left of the sink.
The ToiletThe Toilet
The Toilet

Yes, that is a trash can for used paper to reside. DO NOT FLUSH!
Most Boring of BedroomsMost Boring of Bedrooms
Most Boring of Bedrooms

Finally have bedding, but the lack of decor rots ones soul.
Sorry ClosetSorry Closet
Sorry Closet

The hangers are too short and drop my clothes at a ferocious rate.
Door BuzzerDoor Buzzer
Door Buzzer

We are so fancy! I have a little screen that shows me who wishes to enter my domain!
Front of Building ViewFront of Building View
Front of Building View

Note the hilarious "Lovers Lane" like walking bridge.
Subway PosterSubway Poster
Subway Poster

... I thought this bore an uncanny resemblance to Bean!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb