Lesson Life


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 17th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

... so apparently I wasn't out of the woods as far as the illness went and experienced a relapse. Classes were a real struggle yesterday and one of my students took real pity on me and accompanied me to the pharmacy to ensure I received the right medication. Bob is a funny looking fellow with spindly limbs emerging from clothes that are several sizes too large for him; I suppose it's his version of "gangsta". Friendly guy however, and always so helpful. Even when we are just having our class he is always on the look out to see if your water needs refilling or seeing if there is any other way he can assist you. I guess my endless sniffling concerned him enough to basically drag me to obtain good Chinese medicine. Hope this stuff does the trick, as I am quite tired of feeling poorly.

A bad habit of mine is referring to the students as kids; even though the majority of them are older than me I really can't help it! They are my kids and I am constantly the proud parent, encouraging and cheering from the sidelines as they struggle along. I've had a lot of one-on-ones recently, which can be good fun when the student takes charge and requests a lesson subject. Yesterday (besides feeling quite ill) was a really fun day. My first student was a girl who is a software tester and hoping to improve her English so she can get a better job. Mary inquired if we could focus the lesson on interviews, so I gladly agreed. I printed off a bunch of sample questions and got to work, pretending to be a "big, scary boss" that was conducting the interview. It was such fun, and we both had a blast, playacting to our hearts content. I taught her tricky "bullshit" type answers that she appreciated for their wit and cunning. It was a really great time because she was so excited to be learning something that was so applicable to her and I felt fantastic to be able to help in such a small way that meant so much to her. I love when I can leave a lesson feeling that my kids were learning and engaged. It's empowering!

Now that over a month has passed I really do feel as if I'm learning the students personalities. A fact which constantly delights them. Though I do occasionally still struggle with names, I will remember the obscure details of their lives, and make them laugh over the silly things I manage to remember. One of my students, Simon, is really into self-help books and loves to discuss philosophy and psychology. He records every one of our lessons so he can practice my pronunciation at home. He's part of my level 3 evening class, which is a group of 35 (or so) year old men. Joseph, Simon and Carter are a fantastic bunch and I always look forward to teaching them. We lounge about and talk about feelings and emotions and relationships and our thoughts on everything! It's more of a social club than lesson time. I wish we could escape the school and hold that lesson in a nearby coffee shop, as that is a setting which I think would be more appropriate. One of that group has a stutter when he is nervous, so it's been a challenge to teach him, as he is trying to overcome a stutter in a 2nd language! Carter is a great sport however and it just isn't made into a trying issue as the rest of our group are all really patient. Joseph loves to tell me stories when we have one-on-ones. He has no idea how delighted I am just to sit back and listen as he tells me a tale. He always begins with, "Now I will tell you something about that..." (I can't believe I get paid for this!) Another one of my students always brings a treat for me to every class. Usually it's an apple, as we had joked that that is the most stereotypical "Teacher Gift", but occasionally it is some treat from a nearby bakery. Susan is so sweet and generous! She really loves the rain as well. We once had a lesson about the different degrees of rain; teaching her things like "drizzle" or "pouring". She was especially glad for the weather yesterday... I was not as pleased. I had stayed over at a friends house in Wudaokou on Monday night, as the subway closed early and I knew I didn't have to work until 1:00pm the next day. When I woke up at 11:00am I was amazed at how dark it was outside. It was nearly pitch black out and the sheets of rain dumping down were nearly as impressive as the booming thunder and flashing lightning. It literally felt like the end of days. As I ran out to catch I cab, I was cursing myself for only having flip flops and a skirt. Pedestrians that passed me by were laughing at the silly foreigner as I leaped around, attempting to avoid the major puddles; this was difficult as the streets were flooded! Everyone else was attired in proper rain gear and here I was wearing a thin shirt, skirt and sandals! Blast! The weather was so wild that it made me giddy with exhilaration. I was drenched as I walked towards the school and couldn't help but burst into crazy spins and delicious laughter with each wild "BOOM!" and "FLASH!". I looked half crazed as I ducked into a nearby coffee shop for a warm drink. The employees were quite horrified at my appearance and followed me around with a mop and graciously gave me some napkins to help dry off. (They weren't that effective). By the time I arrived at school I was a royal disaster and met the shocked stares of all my students. They couldn't believe that I went anywhere without an umbrella! Well, I have learned my lesson... and no doubt the reason I'm sick is a result of this soaking.

I've picked up a Chinese habit... drinking hot water. This is what they do. More often than not, no tea is made, instead you just fill your glass with hot water and sip away. When I was first attending interviews I was so confused with the wee glasses of water they would all serve me. To my North American palate, it tasted as if they had left these cups in the sun for a couple days, and I was not very much impressed. Now I am addicted.

Still haven't figured out how to hook up the internet... am beginning to become very frustrated with myself and lack of abilities. Double blast.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb