Every Cloud Has A Silver Lining...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 10th 2009
Published: May 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was something else... I still cannot believe that the events that unfolded actually transpired. However, I am grateful to be able to write about it now, and be able to know that everything has been rectified. All things considered, I should have been rewarded the "Cool Cucumber" award for a situation that fully deserved a nervous breakdown status. (Mom, don't have a heart attack, everything is a-ok).

So my morning began with one of the hostel staff approaching me to say that my tourist visa was officially expired and was wondering if I had an updated one or a permit. Now, my visa has been with the company who is responsible for transferring it into a business visa for a week and I was told to pick it up this Tuesday. In the meantime they had given me a blue sheet that showed they had possession and for what reason. I had been informed that the local police would accept that sheet and everything should run smoothly until I got my visa. I had been very nervous when I handed my passport over, as I am quite ignorant as to the rules and restrictions here. All I know is that you don't want to cross the line. Thus, thinking that everything was on the up-and-up, I happily handed over my transfer sheet and met the confused stare from the reception staff. They worriedly informed me that this sheet was not the proper one and that the police would fine and shut down the hostel if they allowed me to stay on an expired visa! (*Deep breath). With this information it became quite clear that I was lost cause. No hostel or hotel or anywhere would accept a guest not holding a valid passport and visa... plus it was the weekend so the Consulates were closed. I was going to have to wander the streets, which wasn't a very happy option. Doing my best to not spin out of control and burst into hysterics, I got the hostel to call the visa company that was in possession of my passport and luckily the card I carried possessed my rep's mobile number so we were able to reach him. My afternoon transpired into a series of telephone tag. To give William credit he was truly horrified that they had not provided me with the correct permit (apparently the laws and regulations change frequently). Initially he had his hands tied in the sense that as it was the weekend, nothing was open that could process a temporary permit for me, and he didn't have the authority to change anything. He was trying to see if he could book a room for me using his I.D. card (which obviously wouldn't work) and then he began to pepper his boss with desperate telephone calls. At first she refused to do anything about it, but William came through and eventually convinced her to open their office and process the permit. He eventually met me at the subway station near my hostel and accompanied me to the hostel - just to ensure that everything was ok. What a guy. He was so traumatized from the situation, that I spent more time consoling and encouraging him than he did apologizing. It was kind of amusing actually. I was just so grateful to have everything sorted that I could have kissed him. I had spent the day trying to keep calm and continue functioning (ex: look at apartments, check out the famous "Dirt Market", really anything to distract myself from my brutal reality). I think the situation was so extreme that I just switched off and was running on auto-pilot; mentally steeling myself for either somehow sneaking back into the hostel and taking refuge in one the guy's room, or staying up all night and sleeping in parks during the day. The day was just ridiculous because I kept feeling that somehow everything would sort itself, yet every possibility and chance and option kept being impossible or rejected. It seemed that I would never catch a break, yet in the end all was well. Thank you Lord. Maybe the reason I wasn't in a state of hysteria was that all my energy was just focused on prayer. With every twist and turn I just looked into the sky and laughed.

On the apartment front, nothing has really transpired. The places are either dumps or just totally out of my price range. I'm thinking that living by myself is not really a possibility any longer, so have been checking out shared flats. One was a good location, but the girl neglected to tell me that she and her sister SHARED the other bedroom and "my" bedroom was also the tv lounge/living room. Haha. The other place I checked out yesterday was alright, but too far from transportation, and the landlord asked me out on a date! Buahaha. I go to look at more places next week and am really hoping that something turns up. I am quickly running out of funds staying in the hostel and won't be paid until the end of the month! Oh my unplanned life... always doing things the hard way. It's alright though. I kind of like the fact I have to be always on my toes and it truly is amazing how things end up working out. That's what I kept trying to hold onto yesterday; I continually told myself that the next day I would look back on the situation and laugh. Look back and laugh. Sigh.

Well, I survived yesterday and figure now that everything should run smoothly to compensate for such an intense and strained experience. I plan on relaxing today and planning for the week ahead. (My classes begin Monday! Wish me luck and pray that I am AWESOME!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb