Love Affair with an Elephant


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 5th 2009
Published: May 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I have realized that it had been quite some time since I had ventured out on some sort of sightseeing "touristy" activity, and decided to once again, find some group to mooch an adventure off of. The Irish lads had decided to go to the Zoo and having no conflicting arrangements, I figured that was as good a venture as any. We eagerly researched all the animals we might find, and were very much looking forward to seeing Gibbons (whose mating call you can hear 1km away) and various other rare creatures. The plan was to meet at 11am and continue from the hostel to the Zoo. Of course, being boys in a crowed dorm, and suffering from a lack of sleep due to some "epic snoring", they were late and we didn't leave the hostel until about 12:30pm. We were instructed to get off at a certain subway stop and told it was quite easy to find the Zoo from that station. They hadn't been on the subway as of yet, so I was glad to show off my amazing subway skills and play tour guide. Found our stop easily enough, but then upon exiting the station we were at a complete loss at where to go from that point. Each of us pulled out any and all maps and tourist information we were in possession of, and poured over them in an attempt to decipher which direction we were meant to head. We were still at a complete loss several minutes later, and just decided to walk to the right to see if there were any "recognizable" landmarks. I noticed the map we had from our hostel had the Zoo written in characters so I would walk up to random people on the street and say, "ni hao" (hello) and then point to the characters. The ever helpful population would burst into a flurry of gestures and we would tentatively head in the direction we thought we were to go. After nearly 20 minutes of walking god knows where, we happened upon the Zoo.

Excited to check out the pandas we headed to the "Giant Panda House" and found there several smallish pandas lying about in a bored manner, most with their heads averted from the eager, pressing crowd. We were all quite depressed with the living conditions and quickly exited to escape the photo snapping frenzy. One thing I was amazed about was the sheer size of the place. The grounds seemed to go on for miles, and the landscaping was really quite lovely, but one had to wonder at the expense and sacrifice of the animals space to allow for those sculpted gardens and numerous ponds.

We wandered through the foxes, lemurs, and small cats and eventually came upon the elephants. At first I was horrified at the bare ugliness of their "home" and was grieved to watch them just stand in the dust, munching on dubious looking grasses. But then one beast in particular caught my eye. This massive creature was probably the most active of the bunch and was wandering about in it's area. I watched her for a time, as she was the only one moving, and then, my attention caught, peered closer. She appeared to be WINKING at me. This coy elephant was literally flirting with every tourist pressed up against that wall. We watched, fascinated as she curled her trunk and batted her eyes and smirked a smile, encompassing everyone who cared to notice with this absolute feeling of adoration. We were hooked, convinced we were delusional. Nope. She continued on in this manner as the minutes ticked by, and we three we consumed with a rush of pure love as we stood, entranced with this animal. We could have stayed there all day, just loving her. However, the aquarium had yet to be discovered, so we sadly took our leave of our beloved elephant and continued on. The aquarium looked like an underwater Indiana Jones theme. Some Inca looking large heads and many lush (fake) vines were scattered out among the fishes. We took in the dolphin show and were quite impressed with the feats displayed. It was quite extraordinary actually, and we all agreed well worth the entrance price.

The beginning of my week had been quite stressful, but I am pleased to report that all is well now. The pickle I was in earlier was concerning my visa. The tourist visa I was in possession of expires on the 8th, and of course me being me, had neglected to pursue changing or extending my visa until Monday. Then the reality of my situation set down on me and I panicked as I searched flights to Hong Kong madly; overwhelmed by the huge costs I was confronted with. It was going to cost me more for a round trip to Hong Kong than my one-way ticket from Vancouver cost to get to Beijing! Just when the world couldn't look any bleaker, I suddenly remembered that I had met a guy who ran a visa agency, and had offered his services previously to transfer my tourist visa into a business visa. Nervously I phoned him, worried that it would be a scam, or he wouldn't have enough time to transfer my status and I would have to leave the country anyways. He picked up, and seemed quite pleased to know that I called. I informed him of my situation and he was sympathetic and said he could help me and that it wouldn't be necessary to leave Beijing. The price however had been changed by the government over the weekend and was now 500rmb more than what he had originally quoted me for a 6 month business visa. (*Insert Lindsie dying inside*). I sorrowfully hung up with the knowledge that he would contact me in the afternoon to arrange meeting. There I sat subdued and stunned, until all of a sudden I snapped out of my stupor and started doing a little research. Thank you God for the internet! I called around to various visa agencies (whether they looked legit or not) and started requesting quotes. Surprise, surprise... there was no price increase. Gleefully I waited for Sandy to call me back and saucily informed him that I had been phoning around, and found that I could get a far cheaper deal elsewhere, but as I had met him, and thought he was a "wonderful person" that I had the utmost faith he could provide the same service for the discounted price and that we would be able to work together. After much blustering.... he caved. (Point Lindsie). I met up with his partner and him at their stylish office downtown, and now have only to wait a week for my newly issued business visa. It is so comforting to know that I won't have to encounter this situation again until September. Siiiigh. (Obviously prayers for everything to go super smoothly with obtaining my visa would still be appreciated).

... after that overwhelming day, I did the unthinkable. I was so desperate to stuff my face with chocolate (and it didn't help that that night Chocolat was playing on the tv) so I became determined to obtain some decent chocolate - no matter what the cost. I (gasp!) went to Walmart today. I couldn't help it. I explored the enormous giant and found the import chocolate isle, and there my beloved Lindt lay, nestled between some Snickers bars. (I could have cried!) The import wine was quite skimpy and extraordinarily priced, but I did find a Jacobs Creek Cab/Sauv for what would be roughly $19 CAD. Too much for here, but desperate times call for desperate measures. I don't know when I will indulge in these treats, but just to know that I CAN, is amazingly comforting.

Made some new friends and went (again) to the Night Market with them. They ate scorpions on my recommendation and, as promised, quite enjoyed them. I am supposed to go view an apartment tomorrow. (Cross your fingers that it's lovely, because for the location it's CHEAP!)

Hejdå!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb