The Priority War of Cheese vs. Bedding


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 22nd 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I scarcely know where to begin! It has been too long since my last post, but trust me when I tell you that the time was well used. I feel as if this past week has just settled into one big blur, what with all the adjusting I have been doing.

First of all, I have been swapping rooms frequently at the hostel, as they shuffle me around to accomidate the other guests. I have stayed there so long I seriously deserve a picture on their website as an interesting local feature. I just feel ridiculous meeting new people and having to admit how long I've staid there. All this room shifting has really disrupted my quiet routine, and I have to say that living in a hostel while working is not the easiest nor most enjoyable thing. I cannot resent everyone else their time to go out and party, but when drunk Irishmen stumble into the room in the wee hours of the morning and laugh and chat till even later, I do reach a point where I lie and imagine every object within reach that would inflict a great deal of pain if thrown. Usually just imagining this violence will somewhat calm me, and I do my very best to not be a wet blanket and moan at them. (Unless absolutely necessary, and then the full Viking rage is unleashed!)

I have successfully completed my first week of work! It's true... I'm officially a teacher here in Beijing and have landed a job where I work 26 hours a week (full time!) at the English Club Zizid. There are five other teachers working here, and they are all either native Chinese or foreign Chinese. Thus, I am the only "white" person here. My classes range and rotate from level 1 to level 3 English students. The class is never more than five students and it's been really exciting getting to know them all. With such small classes you really are gifted with the opportunity to become quite connected to them. I have never met lovelier people and cannot believe how much I have learned in a week! My emotions the first day were ones of panic and desperation; I had no idea how I was going to bluff my way through three classes and live to tell the tale. Luckily the other teachers here were quite friendly and helpful, so their encouragement helped ease my stress.



As most of you are now aware through various facebook postings, I HAVE A HOME! Yes, it's true. This delightful fact was such an adventurous achievement, and I still have to shake my head at how it all transpired. Some time ago I had come to the conclusion that finding a flat for myself was going to be far too difficult (and expensive) so I had tucked that little dream of a "place of my own" aside, and sorrowfully began to search "roommate wanted" ads. (My cheap side always wins in the end). Purusing ad after ad that posted comments like "nice, respectful girl wanted who will be quiet and not bring friends around often" did not thrill my imagination. I halfheartedly began to go to interviews, but with each meeting my soul rebelled and something in me just kept thinking that I would keep waiting it out for something better to present itself. During this time I met a group of American and New Zealand travelers who, when we got to talking, informed me that they had a friend who was also thinking of staying in Beijing to teach and would most likely be looking to share a place with someone. This Texan girl was to arrive the next day and when introduced, everything fell into place. Her name is Emily and she has been traveling for over a year now. She is friendly, open-minded, easy going and good fun. She likes dresses and dancing too! We immediately hit it off and felt quite comfortable with the idea of sharing a place together. I got to searching for shared flats and eventually found an agent that charged the landlord the "Finders Fee" instead of the tenant. Stanley proved to be an angel and only after one failed attempt at apartment viewing (where he showed us flats utterly out of our price range) he happened upon a two-bedroom place in the Dongzhimen area that was a far better fit for us financially. We viewed it, and were pleased... which is usually when things get tricky. China being China, there is a huge ordeal before signing anything. We had to meet with the landlord and discuss our demands. (We wanted the place cleaned, english translations for all appliances (etc), and a new couch). This little man sat chainsmoking across from us while Stanley translated. Being now used to the bargining lifestyle we decided to see if we could wheedle our way into a lower rental. After many agitated hand guestures, many pictures drawn, pretended indifference, and big cheesy grins, we got our monthly rental down from 5000 RMB/month to 4600 RMB/month. (Which is actually an amazing deal that my students were shocked to hear, considering the area I am now living). Then the fun part of signing a contract you cannot read... the legal assistant side of me shrunk in horror at the reality that I would have to sign something I couldn't dicipher for the life of me, and even Stanley's translations were sketchy at best. I forced them to add some clauses to protect us, and then closed my eyes and started signing. We were told we could move in that day if we paid the deposit and rental. Rentals in China are three months in advance... which we two girls simply did not have. Further negotiations brought that down to the deposit and then the first two months, which consequently emptied our bank accounts. Broke, yet happy to finally have a "home" we plodded back to the hostel to pack up and invite some friends over for our "housewarming". I popped by the european supermarket and purchased crusty bread, cheese, and salami with the last of my money. We were going out in style. Remember that some time ago I had purchased a bottle of wine from Walmart and stubbornly have kept it, meaning to drink on my first night in a new apartment... ironically when Emily was leaving Europe she had some Euros left and in the airport had spent the last of the on a bottle of wine that she too had not drank. It was a sign! I cannot describe to you the total joy of tasting true wine and cheese again. We coupled that with the last of my chocolate and felt that we were in heaven. Most of our invited friends were from Europe, so they too had been feeling the loss of fine cheese and wine, and were very honored to be sharing ours. In the common courtyard we met a group of Finnish guys and also invited them to share in our little party, so I would have to say that it was a very successful first night... until we went to bed. You forget when you are hostelling that sheets, pillows, and blankets are not provided in the real world. That night we were confronted with the reality that we had no money, and our beds were without bedding and our kitchen was without utensils. We cannot even boil water! It's been four nights now, and I have to admit that sleeping on a bare mattress takes some getting used to. It sweats. My room is glorious, I have a giant window and a BIG bed, but am sorely lacking bedding. It's quite humorous. Emily and I burst into giggles over this state of affairs on a regular basis. However, we have learned (through broken Chinese/sign language) that the 24 hour store in our compound will provide us with free hottish water, so cups of noodles may be consumed! This was a very happy discovery. My students are quite amazed that foreigners aren't as rich as imagined and flabbergasted at my state of living. (Maybe they will be so kind as to donate me a pot or two!)

Regardless of this poverty, we are happy as clams. Our place is really lovely and only a 15 minute walk from the subway station. The complex boasts 10 or so buildings and the interior grounds are complete with lily ponds, man-made rock mountains, fountains, and these strange little houses where you must dispose your doggy-doo in. (Mom, the area is patrolled and I couldn't be safer!)

My second week of work is completed now, and I am still enjoying myself. Getting to know the students a little better and have had some truly terrific lessons. One in which I was forced to sing! I was explaining the term "headspace" to my class and was asking them how they change their minds or moods or what lifts them up, while most said talking to friends one of my students (who is now quite a favorite) said that having people sing or play to him made him the happiest. I agreed that it was really nice and told him how musically talented many of my friends at home were... to which he got quite jealous and down and asked me to sing to cheer him up. (We all know how rubbish I am at singing). Hmmm. Nevertheless, I broke out into "You Are My Sunshine" and stood on my chair to serenade the class. They were thrilled/terrified. They are the lucky ones because that is honestly never happening again. Haha. I could write forever about my classes and students; they are all so amazing. Lately I've also been the one interviewing wannabe students and placing them into a level. It's quite amusing, and there really is no format, I just have to speak with them and go by gut. Ridiculous really. My boss also requested that I pop into her office today, and then asked me to teach her an English lesson, as she really speaks very poor English. That was a little challange, but went quite well. I think she likes me.

Well... hopefully that is a sufficient update, and I truly do apologize for the immense time lapse. It's tricky not having wireless anymore. Emily and I once we get paid are planning to install that first thing! Then the blogging will be more frequent I am sure.

Sending my love, Linds

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb