Lazy Days in Sihanoukville


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
October 13th 2012
Published: October 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes you find that special spot, time to just put the camera down, and say it’s all about ME!

The last 2 days have been about laying around the pool reading, going to the beach, an afternoon nap. The first week of my trip has been go here and go there, and it was time to slow down, and I needed a day to recoup from the bus trip.

I had read mixed reviews on Sihanoukville, and the beaches, but I always try to keep an open mind and form my own opinion. Well, as far as I am concerned the beaches are just beautiful. The high season runs November to March, so I realize I am in the slow season, case in point, I am the only person in my hotel for 2 days now. I traveled to all the beaches and there is not a one that I would not enjoy spending the day at. My favorites were Victory and Otres, far less people. If you have been a backpacker in Cambodia then you have been to Serendipity Beach, its by far the hot spot with a whole beach with bars and places to eat with tables and chairs lining the beach. I heard this place is rocking in the high season and the partying goes all night long. You can also get a cheap room (less than $10) and stay here for an extended time for very little money. This beach is where all the hawkers are selling sunglasses, massage, coconut milk, etc. I spent 4 hours at Victory Beach and maybe saw 10 people in 4 hours. Victory Beach has this huge Russian Owned Bar called Airport right on the beach with an actual airplane inside the bar, and not some piper cub either.

You can take a look at my pics and realize this place is a hidden gem.

Tomorrow I get busy again, if you call taking a boat around to some islands and going snorkeling busy.

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb