Party Boat, Interviews and my last day in Sihanoukville


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
October 15th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Seems I have quite the interesting story to tell about my hotel experience here, but actually think I will wait until I get home since this is such a public forum. Kind of caught me off guard!

Spent my extra day in Sihanoukville taking a boat trip out snorkeling, then to a private beach on this beautiful island, which I understand is some kind of protected rainforest area or something. It was the typical party boat type of thing, which while I enjoyed the trip, I left the drinking games to the younger folks – lol. There were 4 sailors from the US ships docked at the port and talked to them a minute, they heard my son is in the Navy.

The swimming was great, the water was perfectly warm and crystal clear. I thought I put enough lotion on, but my nose and legs got a little burned.

On the way back the music was jacked up to the max and the games began. The best was when they would put a snorkel mask on someone and pour a glass of beer down the breaking tube and you would have to drink it. The boat was owned by this German guy so naturally the beer was flowing. There were definitely some people staggering back to the dock on our return. It was a full day trip and a very good experience.

There was a film crew aboard the boat taking pictures and video for some web site. On the way back, I was talking to one of the guys and he decided to interview me about my experience in Cambodia. He told me to check the web site in a few weeks after they edit the trip and see if it is there. I bet I end up on the cutting room floor, but will let you know if I don’t. After I got back I was thinking about the old raddy t-shirt I had on, that would look good on camera.

On my way back I stopped on the main drag area and wandered some shops and tried some of the local goodies. After dark when it cools down, the street vendors all set up shop, its that way everywhere I have been.

Tomorrow I have a cab ride set up for a 3 hour trip to Kampot. I think I have had enough of bus travel for this trip at least.

I realized last night that Saturday was hump day for me on this trip. It seems to be going by so fast.

Happy Travels, Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb