I Prefer Water Pail List


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
August 3rd 2023
Published: July 31st 2023
Edit Blog Post

The proverbial "bucket list" sounds so final, like time is drawing near to leave this earth, as Jyaaack and Morgan portrayed in the famous movie. People often ask me about my own bucket list, and I prefer to call it my Water Pail list. And I have done this for many years now. It sounds less "final."



Having any type of list puts undue pressure on oneself. When I started traveling, I did not have specific goals in mind. I just wanted to see and learn as much as I could. And I have, without the pressure of a list telling me where to go. Though I did visit rather touristy places, my favorites always remain Angkor Wat in Cambodia, and the Amazon Rainforest.



I see another danger, the anxiety or depression that comes with getting older, and not be able to complete your list. Never having a formal list, I can honestly say I have been inordinately satisfied with my travel experiences. In other words, I visit places I want to go, and not the places that everyone thinks I should go. And I enjoy revisiting places I have already enjoyed, like Angkor Wat, my grandparents homeland in Japan, and our magnificent national parks. And I have discovered Greece!



When people ask me about my travels and want suggestions, my best advice has been to go where you will be happiest. If it is the proverbial corner bistro in Paris, the stinky canals of Venice, or the pristine Great Barrier Reef, that is fine with me. Recently a friend went to Peru to experience a trip of a lifetime, Machu and the Amazon. I could feel the incredible joy as he told me about his trip. When we talked about this trip before he went, neither of us could estimate his exuberance about the experience. It was not on any list!



Any list or goal can be somewhat limiting. Over the years, I have added trips that I had no idea I would ever take or have any interest in taking. One such trip, taking the Trans Siberian Railway across Russia became of interest after reading books by Paul Theroux and others. Angkor Wat became of interest due to a casual conversation at a noodle counter in Bangkok. My advice: be flexible!



Sometimes the experience is disappointing. Such was our three African safaris, which were interesting, but somehow unable to live up to the hype of travel experts, and my own imagination. Yes, I am happy that I went. But was it the trip of a lifetime? Probably not. The best part of the trip was visiting Barry the V in Cape Town after the safaris. We stayed for two weeks, and it became our most vivid and enjoyable portion of our journey. It was the connection with people that superseded the "place" or experience.



Your trip does not have to be long, distant or expensive. Yosemite is in our backyard. It is every bit the experience and thrill as the Great Barrier Reef or a week at Wimbledon. Just try to pick the one that makes you happy.



Many times, your goals change mid course. I decided I wanted to visit all fifty states. But I decided that only after I figured about that I had already been to about forty of them. At one time, I wanted to golf on every continent. It is no longer a goal. Maybe now, I want to cycle on every continent?



Comparing lists can be dangerous as well. Some places are on everyone's list, like Paris, New York City, the Grand Canyon, or an African safari. But do not feel like you have to add a place based on somebody else's list or goal. It is not a competition. Be your own list!



Sometimes the journey is better than the destination. Stay in the moment, and don't obsess about places beyond your own interests and limitations. I know certain trips or adventures are not going to happen. I can visit the famous salt flats in Bolivia, without cycling down the famous Death Road. Be realistic!



Along the way, the proverbial "journey" that I mention might prevent you from taking an interesting side trip. On our drive in Chile from top to bottom, we strayed off the Mendoza, Buenos Aires, and Ushuaia, Argentina. It made the trip more interesting, since we both enjoyed wine, the big city atmosphere of Buenos Aires, and the remoteness of Ushuaia.



Spontaneity is a big part of travel. I rarely have every detail planned out, with the exception of major flights, and some hotels. When we stopped to visit Cape Town and Barry the V, we planned to stay one night. We stayed for two glorious weeks! My two weeks at Wimbledon in London was broken up by a quick trip on the Eurostar to visit the Louvre for a day.



And please forget about social media. Easy for me to say, since I send a daily email of my travels to about a hundred of you. I try to remember why I started doing this. I had many friends, employees, and relatives who would otherwise be unable to travel. They wanted to know what it was like to visit these far-off places. It has grown into a life unto itself, and I enjoy it as much as the trip itself.



Bottom line, your goals should be your own, call it whatever you want, bucket list, water pail list, or teaspoon list. Don't believe everyone or every travel professional or magazine. Choose places that fit your likes and dislikes. Make sure it fits your physical limitations as well as your budget. I really enjoy hearing about where you have been, particularly when it is a place that I never thought of.



I don't expect you to follow my footsteps by taking train trips that I enjoy. I know it is not for everyone. My travel buddy, Mike would go crazy, "stuck" on a train for a night or two. But I know many of you would enjoy it if you tried it. If you had suggested this to me twenty years ago, I would have declined in a heartbeat. Things change, circumstances change, goals change.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb