The Wheel of Life


Advertisement
Bhutan's flag
Asia » Bhutan
October 10th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Learnt about the Wheel of Life at Punakha Dzong today.

In summary, the Wheel of Life is driven by the hub of 3 poisons, snake depicting jealousy and hatred, cock depicting greed and pig depicting Ignorance. These corrupt us from within, which determines the cause and effect of lives. The 3 poisons are surrounded by the six world which sentient beings take rebirth. They comprises of god, demi-god, humans, animals, hungry ghosts and demons. The wheel reminds us that everyone is responsible for their own fate, dependant on their karma, the effect of their own deeds. I'm sure there are more to the teachings than just this simplified version. However, it got me into thinking of the "poisons" which we possess... though I'm not sure what is the effect gonna be on us. I have to say that I'm guilty of all 3 poisons.

Jealousy... I admit I do get envious of how fortunate some people can be, jealous of people reaping more than what they sow, envious of the carefree lives they lead. But I don't really have any form of hatred towards anyone, anything. I should learn to let go, think on the positive side, things are fated, no point getting jealous.

Greed... Other than being greedy for yummy food, I don't lust after branded goods or lotsa materials needs.

Ignorance... Definitely guilty. Need to buck up, need to read more, need to be more hardworking, need to travel more to gain wider horizon 😊

Not that I have thorough understanding of the Wheel Of Life, but I'm inspired by the teachings. Not that I really wanna achieve nirvana, but I'll try my best to be a better sentient being.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb