Pebbles and Squabbles


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica
January 8th 2015
Published: January 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

…Pebbles and Squabbles…



I arrived at the world’s most southerly city at the bottom end of Argentina after a twenty-odd hour journey from Miami. The sun was shining and the mountains of the far south were dazzling! I rested and took it easy, at least that was my plan, until I saw a Dragoman Truck!!! For those who do not know, I used to work for Dragoman, driving overland trucks from London, England to Cape Town, South Africa via all the national parks, historic sites and major cities en route!

From Salzburg to Istanbul, the Syrian ruins of Palmyra, Jordan’s Petra, Cairo’s Giza, the whirling dervishes of Sudan, the Mursi of Ethiopia, animals amok in Kenya, Tanzanian Islands and Malawi’s highlands. With thousands of Zambian kwacha and hundreds of trillions of Zimbabwean dollars we bribed our way through to Botswana, Namibia and then to the Cape of Good Hope at the southern extreme of Africa…

Good times… I had a great day in Ushuaia with the two brilliant guides who are doing the same thing as I once did, but in South America… My Dragoman days were an interesting time of my life… It was very nostalgic to cross tracks with a truck and crew almost ten years later… Good times…

I also found out that one of my trucks, Helena (a.k.a. VBZ), has been scrapped! I was quite saddened by that news…!



Anyway, for the past 10 days I have been on board the Ocean Diamond in the far south of the planet and I have just arrived back in Ushuaia after an epic trip to Antarctica.

The incredible scenery of this vast and often forgotten continent at the bottom of the world is mind blowing and pictures and words cannot do it any justice, and just like my previous visits, it has left me almost speechless!

Squabbling penguins stealing pebbles, basking seals on ice floes, breaching whales and towering mountains surrounded me. Ice and silence was everywhere! It’s amazing down there.

Here are a few images of some of my favourite moments.

D.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



8th January 2015

Antarctica
Glad to see you on the ice again! Fantastic....your life is a story book. Love the adventure. Stay safe and keep blogging.
8th January 2015
3 Amigos Marching

Penguins
5 Stars!
5th February 2015
Neko Glacier

Hello,
Beautiful picture!
17th March 2015

Great photos!
Love the photos!! We traveled with Dragoman for a total of 9 months in Africa (2007-2008) and 3 months Central Asia (2010) - lots of great memories.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb