Heading South


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica
February 4th 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mon Feb 4
Well this may be a quick post since I decided not to bring my laptop upstairs. Unfortunately the weatherman was right and the conditions in Pt. Stanly were not good so we did not get to stop there today. I was pretty sure we wouldn't when I woke up and saw the waves out my window. I headed up to the Lounge at 7:15 but didn't bother to bring my stuff. The captain came on shortly after and said they'd have to cancel. Wish they'd have done it earlier but they didnt' want to wake up those on later tours I guess. The seas were at high (20-27 feet) at that point and 50 gale winds. The seas after that and thru lunch were at very hight (27-42 feet) so it's been an extremely rocky day and very difficult to get around. It's calmed down just a bit now (maybe back to high). So I started the day at mass where the priest had us all sit down the whole time for safety and he propped himself up with his elbow at some points. His accent is getting funnier as we go on (it's peace be wit you and peace on eart and axe for blessings) but he's very nice and seems to be enjoying his trip (a celebration of his 30th anniversary with the Charities he runs)

After mass I went to a lecture on Argentina (we still have one stop there after Antarctica) and then Bingo of course. I hadn't gone up to breakfast (thanks to Lin I had plenty in my cabin!) but decided I did want some lunch so went to the Dining Room. Figured the Lido would be crazy with things flying and room service swamped with those not coming out of their cabins. It was a wild lunch with things flying everywhere and they didn't preset anything just brought it as needed. The had to walk most everyone in and out of the room since there are no railings on part of it. After lunch it was time for lecture on Ice is Nice by the Antarctica team. At that point I decided it was time for a short nap.

We will be losing internet access while in Antarctica so this is probably my last post for a few days. He's actually trying to get to Elephant Island early tomorrow so we can do some scenic cruising to make up for missing Stanley. He did have to slow down a bit to keep the rocking down some. The waves are also hitting us on the side and are very noisy and jumpy when they do that. The shops are all closed and you can see some things damaged thru the windows.

Tonight's the Master Chef's dinner so I'm joining some people from the cc board in the Pinacle. I was surprised they were going ahead with the Master Chef Dinner due to the rockyness but see some of the entertainers coming out of the early seating now so that must have been interesting.

Well hopefuly the seas are a bit smoother tomorrow and I'll post again when I can.

Bye, Sharon

Advertisement



4th February 2008

Photos
Hi Sharon, I'm still trying to get the pictures. Is anyone else having a problem. I think I probably would be sick by now if I was with you on the ship, the rocking would get me. (smile) Janet (Randy Travis Fan)
5th February 2008

So Sorry you missed Pt. Stanley
I thought you might miss it based on your weather, but you will still have a fantastic trip thru Antarctica. Can't wait until you return to Argentina and see your next blog entry. Take care. love, Erin and Dennis

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.8kb