Nearly There


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
January 9th 2009
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Space WalkinSpace WalkinSpace Walkin

Houston this is ARRO II. All systems ready.
I slept in a bit today, but it does not really count on account of I stayed up really late waiting for my roommate to come back because I locked myself out -- something that happens pretty much daily. Breakfast was good (wholesome oatmeal, apple cinnamon) and was followed by a bunch of troubleshooting.

I had the machine shop drill new holes in the allsky camera housing, went to Willy and found out the screws didn't fit because the holes were not as good as they looked, so I made the trip back, which takes 30-45 minutes depending on the roads, and longer if the Delta gets stuck, got the holes drilled and cut the screws that were too long, then went back out to Willy to finally make forward progress.

Out there, Chris spliced some cable onto the wind turbine that did not reach all the way to the new location and I went to work on installing the allsky camera. I was nervous about even looking at it because it probably costs more than the net worth of the education that sent me here in the first place. But I got over that as soon as I
Hey, Robot!Hey, Robot!Hey, Robot!

say cheeeese with a dry cool whit like that, I could be an action hero!
realized how cool the thing is ;-)

After that, we did some housekeeping, tidying up wires and whatnot, tried to trouble shoot the power system and got nowhere, then went home.

The riometer is supposed to have been on a plane that I saw land today, so I will pick that up tomorrow and install it -- the last instrument that goes with our box. My boss is having me dismantle the old box and use it as insulation for a neutron detector near Scott Base.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My roomMy room
My room

I have a hide out behind the tall closets
Seeeeee...?Seeeeee...?
Seeeeee...?

I made my bed!


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb