Fun Day


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
January 4th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Discovery HutDiscovery HutDiscovery Hut

Site of the first two Antarctic expeditions. Inside is food from 1901-1904 that is still preserved due to the cold, dry climate.
I found out late last night that there is no transportation pretty much anywhere today because of a delayed New Year's holiday. So, to kill the morning, Chris and I went to cargo to see if our container was shipped yesterday, found out we had to go to MCC (dont' know what this stands for), so we did, and it was. Coincidentally, on the way to MCC I ran into some one and she happened to mention that there is a 10K run at 10 a.m.

The Scott Hut 10k is actually only 5.2 miles (around 8K) and runs the length of McMurdo twice -- it starts at the chapel, turns down to Discovery Hut and back, then up a large, impeding hill to the Scott Base sign and back. It was pretty warm today, but had strong, chilly winds. Because the place is a desert, this means that the sun beats down and burns my skin, but the wind makes it numb so I cannot tell. I ran the race without my sunglasses, and though the view from Scott Base sign almost stopped me in my tracks, my eyes were almost bleeding from the UV rays blasting me from
The Hunt Is OnThe Hunt Is OnThe Hunt Is On

Shambles goes in for the kill. Another 105 year old food stuff, a seal.
all directions. End result: 9th place at 36.20. Not my best, but I am happy with it; especially since I got a free t-shirt out of the deal.

Afterward, I stretched, grabbed a quick bite to eat, and read for a while before going down to Discovery Hut once more to see what I could see. Usually that is where the penguins hang out if there are any. No such luck. What I did see, though, was a touch tank aquarium in Crary, a research laboratory building here. It had snails, sea spiders, urchins, anemone, star fish, and some other cool stuff.

Supper time was followed by a trip up Observation Hill, which overlooks McMurdo on one side and the Ross Ice shelf, Scott Base, and Williams Field on the other. At the bottom I ran in to David, an ice core driller I met at The Devon in Christchurch before I came down, so I went back up with him. On the return journey, we swung by Ghallagers, the bar in town, because it is the only place that is not pure daylight. Can usually trick myself into thinking it is dusk so that I get tired.
ViewViewView

The ice has already begun to melt and break.
Unfortunately, as soon as the door opens I have to put on sun screen and sun glasses.

All in all, A+ day.

(when I have time I will include some history and various facts about McMurdo)


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Vince's CrossVince's Cross
Vince's Cross

In memory of an Antarctic explorer that lost his life.
Save MeSave Me
Save Me

I'm being eaten by a fish made of chains!
It's OfficialIt's Official
It's Official

Here at McMurdo
It's Official (II)It's Official (II)
It's Official (II)

Here at McMurdo
The Hunt Is On (II)The Hunt Is On (II)
The Hunt Is On (II)

Some of the research that goes on here. This is a saltwater tank with water cycled in directly from the ocean.
Ob(servation) HillOb(servation) Hill
Ob(servation) Hill

the ascent don't let bears position the camera.
Scott's CrossScott's Cross
Scott's Cross

In memory of McMurdo in the background.
Scott BaseScott Base
Scott Base

Where the Kiwis work. Williams field is lost in the expanse of whiteness.
McMurdoMcMurdo
McMurdo

from ob hill
McMurdo (II)McMurdo (II)
McMurdo (II)

enjoying the view
2nd time2nd time
2nd time

this time, with all of us


Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1018kb