Transportation


Advertisement
Africa
September 10th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post


Getting around Dar es Salaam, when you’re a volunteer, can be a challenge of sorts. There are a few methods that are economical and practical… Driving isn’t one of them.

Walking is a hugely popular method. I have been told that work is about 5 to 6 km from my home. We want halfway to work in the morning and then we catch the Daladala (city bus – more about that later). At the end of the day, we walk the whole distance home. When we get to our destination, both in the morning and at night, I am a sweaty mess. The shirt is soaked and the locals tend to laugh. They remind me that this is the cold season and I am really goin to sweat come December and January… Can’t wait for that!

We usually walk when we have errands, do grocery shopping, or meet up with friends. I have to admit, it is very strange to not own a car after 31 years. Even when I lived in NYC, I had a car parked a couple hours away if I needed it. Here, I wouldn’t want to drive. The traffic is crazy. There are so many vehicles and so few roads. They drive on the other side of the street so that would be a learning curve for me as well.

Bjajs:

You pronounce every letter in the word. These are the 3 wheeled vehicles that scoot in and around traffic. They aren’t allowed in the downtown core during rush hour, but some go there, hoping to not get a ticket. They are open air vehicles and I have seen one tip with passengers inside. I use these for short distances when I have to get somewhere quickly. They cost less than a cab and you never pay the price the driver quotes. You negotiate before you even get in.


Cabs:

Very much like home. There are no meters so you negotiate a flat rate. It costs 10,000 Tsh ($8.00 CAD) to go from home to work. There are seatbelts and there isn’t much to tell you about these.

Daladala:

This is the popular mode of transportation. These are the city buses. They go to all areas of Dar. It costs 300 Tsh (30 cents CAD) for a one-way fare. There are approximately 25 – 30 seats on each of them. Everyone else stands… and boy, can they ever pack the passengers in when they have to. Just when you think they can’t fit anymore on the daladala, five more people climb aboard. It can be hot on the daladala because, remember, this is the cold season, and the locals don’t want to open the windows.

I have been holding on to the overhead bar, watching droplets of sweat run down my forearm to my elbow and drop on a person who happens to be sitting. Nice, I know.

If you get a seat on the daladala, it is going to be a good day…. Also, there is no “Ladies first” attitude here. Men will board without even giving the woman a thought. The men take the seats when ladies are standing. Very rarely is a seat offered up to the woman. It’s just the way it is here. Women are second rate citizens here.

Final Note:

Sidewalks aren’t just for pedestrians. It isn’t uncommon to be walking along and get honed at from behind. Buses, cars, SUVs, bjajs, motorcycles all use the sidewalk if it means they can get there quicker. You always have to be on your toes!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb