Hello from teacher Errie :)


Advertisement
Africa
June 15th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody 😊!! I'm still having a brilliant time here in Uganda- the weather is rather hot- resulting in a red nose and cheeks on Saturday!!
The Americans left yesterday, I have had a really lovely time with them all- they accepted me into their group and have made some great friendships thought their visit.

On Saturday we went to school (I think Vie already said but hey), and had a great morning with the children, we washed clothes, played games- a thoroughly enjoyable time!! Then in evening we all had dinner together- which was nice.

Sunday we went to church- which was a rather different experience to home- if you don’t have collection- you bring something to auction off e.g. bananas, carrots, onions etc. The Americans loved this and to give some extra money to the church bidded very high!! The congregation loved it! We all (and half the local community too!!) then went to a mans house named Henry, we had lunch and were entertained by some local dancers which were brill- all of which I have photos but not quite sure how to upload them. After our entertainment we trotted off to see a coffee plantation 😊!! Which was rather cool too (we were only there about 5 mins). Tea was a real treat ... PIZZA!! No liver or matoke lol. Another nice evening with brilliant company!!

Monday- back to school 😊!! The Americans had asked Jeffery the headteacher what else they could do to help (they fitted guttering and painted pictures in the medical room on Saturday), so he suggested they clean windows- so they did- with razor blades and soapy water! The school has lots of windows so they didn’t quite get them all done. I had a nice morning at school, they were learning about joining words e.g. flower pot- so I drew on big paper a pictures of a flower + pot = flowerpot, I did a few more too and the children and teachers loved them, they never usually learn through illustration. After school I went into town to buy each class a board rubber thing as I noticed that when I was observing lessons teachers could never find one and were struggling. I bought one for each class and took them back up to the school, Jeffery was teaching at the time, but he popped out to see me and was so very very appreciative 😊 - as I was leaving I saw children running all over the playground area distributing them - it felt so worthwhile

Tuesday (today)
Today was my first day of teaching a lesson I- I had great fun and I hope the children did too! We learnt about Likes and Dislikes- I was so touched to see them so interested in what I had to say- they wanted to copy everything I said. They really are so very adorable!! I was so sweet when I asked them what do they like etc I like sweets, I like my parents and I like school- I thought to myself would most children in England say I like school- I think not (well at least half of them). They are so eager to learn, it’s untrue 😊!! When I said what thing do you like one child said “I like teacher Errie"- bless 😊, I high fived them and they all started doing it!! Oh and I went and found Daphne's sponsor child to day - Doreen- she is lovely- I've a photo of her also 😊!!! In the playground I asked one child to write their name for me- I now have about 100 scraps of paper with children’s names on wanting sponsoring!! - So if anyone wants to sponsor a child its only 20 pounds a month-(the pound key doesn’t work) and is sooooo worthwhile!! I want to sponsor all of them!! Just not possible

Power is off in the town (was still on @ Rondavells when I left) so I am running on the internet places battery and I don’t want to use it all up!!

Love to everyone 😊
Teacher Errie (as the children say)
xxxxxxxxx

Ps I have no spell check sorry


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb