Hii from a very warm Uganda


Advertisement
Africa
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everybody from a very very hot Uganda!!

Ive had a very busy week!! Been here there and everywhere and have made some friends along the way!!

On tuesday (last week) I taught my first lesson which was really great 😊, then in the evening I met the MD team, they are lovely and invited me to join them in all their activities, I was a bit weary at first as they (the group) have paid to be on the trip, and I hadn't- and didnt want to look like a scrounger!! They said not to be silly and that I was more than welcome!
On Tuesday evening we had some children from the school come and talk to us- their stories were HEARTBREAKING, all the children that came were orphans, one boy in particular really tug on my heart strings was a boy called Didas. His father used to beat his mother, so she left them, his father didnt want them (him and his brother) so left them on the streets of Kampala- they stole to get food. They were found by a charity who took them in, then Didas's brother got adopted by a family in the UK, so he really was all alone 😞!! Luckly he came into the care of Alice- who took him in and had him educated at Modern 😊!!

On Wednesday I went to school again, the children are so willing to learn, it is a true pleasure to be around them, they have smiles that grin from ear to ear- Ive got some great photos- but technology here won't let me put them up 😞. In the afternoon we visited a clinic and a hospital. The clinic was quite modern and good- supposedly, and is mainly funded by the diocese. Most of the equipment has been provided by some Americans- but unfortunately the electrical plug and voltage is different to here, and is too expensive for them to change. They have an operating theatre ready to use, but can't afford to employ a surgeon or doctor. It really is such a shame!! Oh and the last thing the lady said we haven't been paid for two months!
Next we went to the nachabarli hospital- well what an experience that was!!! It seriously makes basetlaw look like a palace, it was just awful! Hospitalization in Uganda costs money- alot of money that most of the Ugandans do not have, so they only go into hospital if it is really desperate, so most of the cases in the hospital were really critical. Jess and I both said we could not imagine how people get better in a place like it! It was so dark, dingey, and depressing. Liz one of the MD team is working in the nenatal department and she said the staff moral is such so low because people only come into the hospital if they are in a dire state, and most of the cases have a bad ending! They are really trying though!! Oh they have double gated gates and you cannot leave until you have paid for your treatment!! Some people sleep outside for days and weeks waiting for relatives to 'bail' them out. NHS is fabulous!!

Thursday- school again 😊- in the afternoon we went to visit a deaf unit at a school, we were taught abit of sign language- like hello, thank-you and how to say our names. After we had been shown around, the teachers and pupil (48 of them) came back to Rondavels and we all played with them, they loved football, Frisbee etc- and even though we couldn't have a conversation we found new ways to connect with them!! A thoroughly enjoyable experience!! Slept well that night!!

Friday- went to school again 😊! Ive made really good friends with this little girl called Ruth- totally melted my heart and I hadn't noticed until friday that she was walking around with no shoes, i felt so guilty and really wanted to help her, but didn't want to rush out and buy her some- because I'd get everyone coming up to me! My heart overtook my head however and I took claire peace ( one of the MD team volunteers and she is also Alices daughter) to help with the bargaining 😊. I had already drawn around her foot and took it into the shop and found her a really nice pair of shoes 😊!! It was so lovely to give her them- her face just lit up, she was worth every penny!! Oh and as I was leaving school this little boy called Arnold 😊, came up to me and had written loads of English to Runyankole (local language) translations for me as I had been asking them to teach me! So veryyyy sweet of him!
On Friday evening we were entertained by some local dancers- who got us all up and dancing and haviing soooo much fun!!! We all sweated buckets- but enjoyed every minute!

Saturday- Went for a trip (3hrs away) to Lake Bunyoni- bottomless lake. Jess and I managed to get stuck on the tyre bit of the bus- so every bone in our bodies shook- literally!! We had a really nice day, we were going to have a swim, but relaxing with our books took over!! ANOTHER FAB day 😊

Sunday- Theee nicest service I have EVER EVER EVER been too! It was just immense! Mo, Liz and I went to the childrens service at school which is run by the children, everything about it was lovely! The singing was spine tingling 😊! All three of us enjoyed every single minute!! In the afternoon we (the three of us) went back to the school as Liz had brought Madagascar the film over for them to watch- their little faces were glued, and laughter echoed around the hall- great to see and hear!

Monday- School- quite a quiet day- but a nice one!

Tuesday- Today- went to school like usual, but ended up doing some drama- teaching the children all about dialogue and acting it out 😊!! Ruth also came up to me and brought me a thank you letter for her shoes- which made me fill up as she is now calling me her best friend 😊!!

Africa is just the most amazing place I have been- I'm loving every second- and will most definitely be coming back!!!

Hope you all are ok 😊!! Thank you all for your messages- Ive only found them today!! Its so lovely to hear from you!

Love Always
Ellie
xxxxxx





Advertisement



22nd June 2010

Brill
We are so proud of you Ellie and glad that you are enjoying the experience and challenge. Miss you in a good kind of way!!!!! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxx
22nd June 2010

Brill
We are so proud of you Ellie and glad that you are enjoying the experience and challenge. Miss you in a good kind of way!!!!! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxx
28th June 2010

ellesAfricanAdventure
Glad you are enjoying your advenyure, missing your smiling face, God be with you and all the team.
29th June 2010

What a wonderful thing your doing!
What a wondeful life changing experience, I work for the same company in the same dept as your Dad but don't see him often. Caught up with him today and he has been telling me about your wonderful adventure. What a fabulous thing your doing, I think all young people should do this. He is very proud of you and I can understand why.
1st July 2010

you are inspiring
Dear Eli We are all so impressed with the way you appear to have thrown yourself into the role and are being so thoughtful about what you are doing. You are obviously learning and giving so much, continue to savour every moment of it. Love Fi, Ged , Bethan and Iona

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb