My Trip Continues !!!!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Entebbe
June 12th 2010
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Every One

Day 6

Went down for breakfast- bread and marge again- getting rather bored of it now! It was a public holiday - so went to town to write my blog- wrote it alllll up J- blooming computers went down and had no internet. I have walked back from school a few times but never walked to school and thought I might be going the wrong way as mo said owwh have you seen this that and the other on your way home and I hadn’t- soo I asked two of the girls who work at the hotel to tell me the way- well they tried carting me off on a motorbike! 1. I didn’t know the driver from adam and 2. the driving in Uganda is WILD! I was like NOOO way!!



Day 7

When we arrived at school ( Ruth who is the bursar and also Alice- one of the directors of the school sister lives in the hotel- so she is giving me lifts) I could hear the sound of the little children’s voices- they were so sweet- they sent shivers down my spine. The children still seem bemused to see a white person at THEIR school!! Apart from Mo I must be the only white person in a 700 mile radius. Had a lovely day at school, and have now gone from- I only want to help and assist the children to I’ll give this teacher thing ago (although I am really nervous). I just keep thinking that if I do teach these little young people could gain so much just by hearing me speak. So I’m going to give it a shot- in a week or so!! At break time I had been given some biscuit, so I politely handed them around- there were quite a few in a packet, I never did get a biscuit- the teachers troffed them all down J. Because there are two P3 classes I did the first half of the morning with P3S and then repeated the two lesson again in P3N J!! On way back I popped again to the internet place- still no internet!! I also went into the bookshop- nothing like ours though!! I bought a book for P3 English ( what I’ll be teaching) to help me out and ordered another- I’ll just leave them at the school when I go- they had none for me borrow Had lunch then went outside to read over the book - they learn so much detail even at a young age!



Friday!

Another lovely day at school- the children are slowly getting to know me. At the end of the lesson I said would you mind if I take a photo of you all to show all my friends and family back home- they went crazy with excitement- absolutely lovedddd it!!



Saturday (today)

Some American people arrived last night who have come for 3 days to do some building work in the school- so I had breakfast with them- it was lovely to have other people to talk to. As they spent most of yesterday driving some of them wanted to walk to the school- I offered to show them the day- stopping lots to take photos of bits and bobs. When we arrived at school the children were doing their washing!! So we all helped out. We then played with the children (as the building equipment hadn’t yet arrived for the Americans to get to work), we (well I definitely did) had so much fun and the children sat and sang to me and played and just loved us being around them! After lunch it was time for the children’s bath time!! The stuff had arrived for the Americans to get started with their work so they did, and I decided I would walk into town to write this for you (if the internet was on WHICH IT IS J!!) I had a lovely morning and it was great to have people around. I’m now looking forward to the Mission Direct team arriving on Monday- so I’ll have more company- I just hope I won’t get in their way- I do feel I’m a tagger onner- I don’t want them thinking I’m in the way!



When I created this I promised myself I wouldn’t bore the heck out of people but writing stupidly long blogs! However I have already failed!! I’m sorry, but I have over a week to tell you about- I promise they won’t be as boring and long in the future!



I miss everybody lots and lots- but I am having theee most amazing, eye-opening, brilliant time and hope it continues too J!!



Lots of Love Always

Ellie



Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb