Hello form UGANDA!!


Advertisement
Africa
June 9th 2010
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody!!!
Sorry I haven’t been in contact before now, I couldn’t access the internet in Kampala (and I wasn’t really there long enough to tell you anything exciting!!) and the power has been of in Rukungiri, so that’s why it’s taken me so long!!

Day1
So … after finally packing my last bits and bobs on Thursday night (10:40) I had 1 and a half hours sleep, then up to start the big adventure !! Because my flight was changed it meant that I was flying from Manchester to Amsterdam- Amsterdam to Entebee. The flights went quickly and I got talking to a couple of people to help pass the time. My flight got in a little earlier than expected, so Mo hadn’t actually arrived at the airport when I came out. I soon found her and we went back to my first stop Whitecrest Guest house. I was warmly met by Alice, SP, Lisa and little Luke, I had a traditional Ugandan meal and went to bed, and slept like a log!!

Day 2 of Elles African adventure consisted of a trip around the seven hills of Kampala, I saw lots of interesting sights, one being the absolutely crazy driving! Wild! “The only rule on the road is that there are no rules”! Cars everywhere, bibbing horns allsorts, I thought my driving was bad- makes me look like a total saint! I was also quite amazed by the total contrast in poverty vs wealth in such a close proximity! One corner people were living in slums, the other total luxury!

Day3
We traveled to Rukungiri on the Sunday and it took all day to get, mainly because of the pot holes- they are everywhere and big too! We thought bridgegate and that road near Asda were bad, not even a patch on them. We also got stuck in a traffic jam, a lorry had spilt its load all over the road and as it thee main road, it meant traffic built up … A LOT!! A passer by suggested that we go another way, so Mo driver- Ellieakieme (sounds like that-no idea how to spell it!) tried it, but it just wasn’t possible, rather dangerous. When we got back in the queue- but further down the line there were people filling a ditch up with soil and bits, as someone on the other side of the ditch couldn’t get across- it was quite interesting to watch as all the local community were helping out. The 4x4 eventually got across- not before paying the workers though!! Other 4x4s followed, then an absolute plonker decided he would have a go- the helpers tried to convince him not to- he was having none of it! Got a third of the way, and he got stuck! They tried pushing the car - mud going everywhere, just as we thought he was out … smoke billows out of the engine! The plonker did eventually get out - but no one else followed. We arrived at Rondavells guest house at 6 ish and set out at 9!

Day 4
Went to school for the first time- the children are adorable- but look completely confused to see a white person! I had a tour around the school- we take so much for granted in the UK it is unbelievable!! Each time a visitor goes into a class they all stand up and have this sweet little saying - that at this moment in time I can’t remember, but it is UBER sweet. They are so respectful too! I got stuck in a year 6 Science lesson - well it completely confused me :/. Walked back to the hotel - got slightly lost- but all was ok- I made it !! Oh and the whole school sang me their national anthem and another song- again ever ever so sweeet!!

Tuesday

Went to a few different classes- enjoyed them loadddsss more !! So I am now going to be working in P3- that class impartially love singing, made mew feel very welcome. Decided that it would be best to stick with one class and get to know them and they know me rather than fliting about. They also have an hilarious teacher- who makes their learning ever so fun!

Running out of time on my internet (its ever so slow- another thing I take for granted).

So, so far, I have survived a two plane trips, driving around Kampala, two days at school and a 24 hour powercut. Lots more has happened, but I can’t write it all down, sorry if I’ve bored you.

Hope you all are ok !!

Love
Ellie
Xxx
PS Today is a national holiday- heroes day
Ps again- We have just had 8 powercuts in the space of 30 minutes!!


Advertisement



13th June 2010

Hello
Hi ellie just read your blog sounds great stay safe jules xx
16th June 2010

Wonderful
It all sounds very exciting and colourful. Enjoy . B and I are doing the wedding at Bright hour tomorrow and will show the books. Pippa etc thought them great. ordering 4 more

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb