Another update


Advertisement
Africa
June 6th 2009
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It is very hot here in Kenya today! We currently have an absolute overload of other volunteers, due to it being the month of the American holidays starting. I feel like I am very reluctantly becoming educated on every aspect of the American culture by very willing teachers - these teachers are usually absolutely shocked at how much T.V. I haven't watched, how many brands of sweets ("candy") I don't know about, how many ("totally") famous people I haven't heard of - I think the general opinion is that I have been in Maasailand too long. Anyway, aside from my slight mocking, everyone is very nice and friendly.

We just had an exam for Standard 8s in school for all subjects, and it was good and bad. Because this was regarded by many as a sort of test of how well I have been doing as a teacher! The majority of people were incredibly happy because the mean score of the class increased by 10% since the exam they took just before Easter, before I was teaching them. But a few people who I expected to do extremely well seemed to do terribly, which left me feeling awful (especially when some were practically in tears!)

Aside from that, life carries on much the same - except what on earth is going on with the UK government these days? Even in Maasailand we are beginning to get stories about how the whole parliament is going to be dissolved because someone bought a bath plug using tax payers money - it sounds like an absolute mess. And people talk about corruption in Africa, when it is happening right under our noses in our own country!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb