Football


Advertisement
Africa
June 20th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Kenya!

These past few weeks have been very very eventful. It seems to be football season in school, so there has been not so much school and a lot of travelling all over Maasailand to various other schools to compete. And here, believe me, football is taken VERY seriously - a whole day of school will be cancelled for just one game! It means I am seriously behind with my classes now, and there will have to be a lot of catching up when this is all finally over!

It has been a lot of fun however - because I will repeat, football is taken VERY seriously. Yesterday there was a game in a neighbouring school which I decided to go to, so me and a Standard 8 girl called Mary managed to bargain a space in a vehicle and went to watch (and I also wanted to visit the village because I had never been there). There were 3 schools playing, and the tension was immense. About 4 fights NEARLY started, 1 fight actually started, these people were playing like it was a life or death situation! One boy from an opposing team decided to try and injure someone from our team, and one of our teachers who is usually a very calm and composed man just grabbed his Maasai stick and ran towards this boy and the next thing there's a big fight and the whole game was stopped for a while.

The whole final tournament is going to be at this Maasai show which will happen on Thursday, Friday and Saturday next week which will be a lot of fun, especially walking 3 hours to the location of the show in the next village with my students.

David's leaving date is now incredibly close, and I am not going to say too much because this is a rather difficult thing for me to think about right now! It will be a big obstacle for both of us but let God give us strength to live well and independently in Kenya and Aberdeen for a short time.

I am thinking of everyone, so I hope that everyone is well and happy at home!

Tutuonana/Kwaheri/Olesere/Kidua/See you

Advertisement



2nd July 2009

I miss you Emma :(
2nd July 2009

Miss you hun.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb