Recovered


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province
May 30th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

GithariGithariGithari

Githari - maize, beans and fat. Cooked with the new food
Hello everyone, and I'm so sorry for the huge absence in updates on this blog. Several things have happened since about 2 weeks ago, which I will update you on now...

On Saturday I took my friend John back to the hospital, to check his knee and he had to have a huge amount of fluid removed from it with nothing but several large needles, no anaesthetic or anything they just stuck the biggest needle ever into his leg and took it all out! So then on Saturday afternoon I was meaning to write an update and include pictures of the food and everything, but I was feeling a bit ill, plus it was getting late so I decided to go home and come back again tomorrow (Sunday) to finish my internet business.

The next day I dragged myself up, quite clearly not well, and staggered to church and nearly fainted as soon as I tried to stand up, and had aching joints, headache, fever and a horrendous weakness - after going to the village hospital (which was being temporarily run by my fellow volunteer friend Jenny) it was obvious I had malaria! So Jenny gave me quinine injections
Hungry small childrenHungry small childrenHungry small children

Small children queuing
and tablets and I was sent back to bed. Maggie came home in the evening and was so worried that she wanted to take me to a proper hospital, but I was so so weak I couldn't even imagine moving at all. Malaria attacks the red blood cells so therefore limiting the amount of oxygen available to the body so that is why I was so so tired.

On Monday I was off school, my first sick day in several years I think! I rested a bit but kept getting many visitors! Two of my Std 8 students brought me a traditional Maasai root to boil and drink. On Tuesday I was slightly better so I went to school and managed to teach all my lessons. I was still really weak especially at the times just before I would take my tablets.

Since then I have got better and better, am now NEARLY fully recovered so I will upload a few photos of the students eating the new food we bought and then I am going back home to rest a bit more!

To anyone who is worrying - I've been here for 4 months now, and
Hungry childrenHungry childrenHungry children

Small children with some of my bigger Standard 8's in the background
been amazingly lucky and NEVER been ill, so it was going to happen sooner or later. At least now I have had malaria and got it over and done with - if I ever get it again I will now have partial immunity which is great. David is still lucky and keeping his no-sickness record clean!

It was a shame because we were going to climb Mount Kenya this weekend (it is a long weekend to celebrate the anniversary of Kenya's independance from colonisation) but obviously that didn't happen. Hopefully we will still fit it in.

I will leave you with some photos now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bowl of githariBowl of githari
Bowl of githari

Selinah and Pheobe
SquishSquish
Squish

Very squishy queue
QueueQueue
Queue

Long queue


Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb