African Adventures


Advertisement
Africa
November 6th 2005
Published: November 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dear all
At last I've got time and opportunity to write my travelblog. There is so much to tell that I thought I would write one entry quickly and then add others to tell you more about the highlights .. and lowlights.

I am now in a very windy Cape Town after a lovely journey from Nairobi, Kenya through Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia to South Africa.

Kenya started with a conference and almost ended in disaster when I broke my wrist. However my wrist was 'fixed' during an overnight stay and op in Nairobi and I joined my overland trip from Nairobi to Cape Town.
I loved the time I spent with Reuben, James and Kimosop, my Kenyan friends, in Bagoria and Baringo. I was able to see so much wildlife with them and they were all so knowledgeable about the wildlife in their country.
Overlanding with Kumuka was both fun and frustrating as there was so much more that I wanted to see and do yet we seemed to zoom through Africa. However for me the highlights were the magnificent game reserves. Adopting a baby elephant. A ballon trip over the Masai Mara and champagne breakfast
lionlionlion

King of the Masai Mara
surrounded by half a million wildebeest. Cheetahs in the Ngorogoro crater. Spices, beach and blue skies on Zanzibar. Landscapes in Tanzania and Malawi. Villages and friendly waves and greeting along the way. Sunrise and sunset over Lake Kariba. Visiting the orphanage and chatting to villagers at Kande Beach on Lake Malawi. Walking with rhino and lion at Vic Falls. Bush camping in Chobe National Park. Watching elepants, rhino and lion in the evening at the waterhole in Etosha. The sand dunes of Namibia.

I hope you enjoy reading all my African blogs as I put them on this site over the next day or so.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.527s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 125; dbt: 0.3026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb