Sea, sandcastles and a sunset


Advertisement
Africa
May 1st 2007
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

This isn't Stokes Bay...is it?This isn't Stokes Bay...is it?This isn't Stokes Bay...is it?

False Bay in the sunshine!
Helloooooooooooo to all and to all a hello!!!

The sun came out today...finally! So after waiting around for the car hire guy, and doing exciting things like our washing...we eventually headed off in search of sea and sand to celebrate!

After a short drive, we came across False Bay and spent a merry few hours chilling out with our books, playing in the sea, playing in the sand and making the world's greatest sand castle! ....Sigh!!!

The beach trip was short but sweet, however, as we had plans this afternoon/evening with Cliff and Lisa, the guys running the Help 2 Read Project. They kindly picked us up and took us back to their house in Nordhoek, where we were greeted by their two foster dogs. Once hellos were exchanges, we all took the dogs down to the beach for an early evening stroll and to watch the sunset...and what a sunset it was! Reds and oranges like never seen before...bodes well for the weather tomorrow, fingers crossed!

After a huge, but yummy meal at the Red Herring Trading Post, and much easy-going conversation, we had to bid Cliff and Lisa a good night and return to
The seaside ho-downThe seaside ho-downThe seaside ho-down

Best not to ask!
our beds ready for a nice early start for school tomorrow!

We're both really looking forwards to going in in the morning and seeing our kids again! Although having this unexpected five days holiday has been fantastic and has meant that we've been able to see parts of the country we may not have seen otherwise, school and this project is why we came to South Africa. We're both itching to get back into Masi and make some small difference to those children's days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Red sky at night...Red sky at night...
Red sky at night...

...you know the rest!


1st May 2007

Help I need to set the video
Hi both of you. Well what a marvellous few days you have had and what alot you have packed in. Like Mum B I am really proud of you and what you have achieved in such a short space of time (my house is really tidy too!!). I am going out tomorrow night and I need to set the video - Hannah you said that I should learn how to do it - well I have got the instruction book out and I am going to have a bash. I will probably record the wrong thing. The postman delivered the ink cartridges today. I found the package in Jullia's bushes. There was a bit of a wind today so they probably blew off the step. I thought it was a bit of rubbish - good job I went and had a look. Anyway enjoy your day with the kids tomorrow I expect they are looking forward to seeing you both as well. Take care. Miss you xxxxx Mum O
2nd May 2007

Hello!
Hiya...... have taken the hint re lack of msgs but I promise I have been keeping up to date with your progress and what you have been up to!! Photos look fab .... could you sneak me back at penguin too please they are soooo cute. Em x
2nd May 2007

Oh my Gosh!!!
No, you're not?! You never are?! Really?! Acyually going to do some work?!! Ah-ha. Now the jolly is over and, yes I hear the distant crack of a whip! To the grind stone girlies! Hope school remains as fab as it started. I'm heading home tomorrow, yay! Let's hear it for the UK...... (tumbleweed, I know). We can't all be on an African Adventure like you two! Loves ya! xx
2nd May 2007

Just a thought...
Liz, have you considered a career in sand sculpting? You could start a portfolio of your work.... :-)
2nd May 2007

Just a thought...
Liz, have you considered a career in sand sculpting? You could start a portfolio of your work.... :-)
2nd May 2007

That's a good sunset!
Well I agree that is a good sunset but I think you need some South American lessons from Katherine in sandcastle building. Glad the sun has come out finally. Love Aunty Jeannie
3rd May 2007

Sandcastle.............. :-)
Good to see you took the advice, it would have been sacrilege not to build atleast one on the beach at some point while you're there.
3rd May 2007

Hey there!
Hey you two! Hope all is well. I'm round your (Hannah's) mum's at the moment. Have just had a cuppa and am now probably being a bit anti-social by going online. Anyway, have just been speaking to my sis and she has said that they have put their house up for sale and have already put in a offer for a house in Gosport. I won't say which road it's in just in case there is a rival reading this who might then also put in an offer for the house. You've got watch these things you see! I hope I haven't now stolen her thunder because she is also going to post on here at some point I think. Well, I shall sign off for now. All there is left to say, to one of your other posters, who I have not seen since Holland is... Annie are you ok, so Annie are you ok, are you ok, Annie? Take care both of you and keep having fun. Up the Borough, Up the Saints!!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb