Burdened


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
June 23rd 2007
Published: June 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Again I couldn’t sleep last night; my heart is so broken I cannot stop thinking about the children and the inability for them to get the food they need. All night I have been thinking of ideas to help raise support for the orphanages so we can get some self sustaining business going and support the children’s basic needs as well as their schooling. I know I am not individually able to do this, but with the grace of God and his almighty power, we can accomplish it. Our morning was typical and we had some extra relax time so Raveesh, Amy, Candace, Edwin and I took a tour (walk) down the road a ways. Most of our conversation was about change, concerning the best ways to prepare the children for life after the orphanage. It was very enlightening and many good ideas came about. We went back to Amazing Grace and helped peel vegetables for the children’s food while Candace killed a chicken. Rev. Solomon Baka came by with his friend Geofrey. They told about their organization they are starting called Agency for Madi Oprhans and Widows (AMOW). It is a well planned start and I feel the Lord has placed it on my heart to help assist in any way I can. As we were meeting, Patrick came by. He is a gentleman who has lost the better part of his leg due to a motorcycle accident that happened in 2001. I spoke with Lyla Peterson, a nurse from the states who was here for six months; she informed me that after speaking with a doctor and sending him the x-rays, amputation is the only option. Candace and Raveesh used some of our medical supplies to bandage him up. It will only help at the surface but there is not too much we can accomplish from here. We later walked into town and picked up some needed supplies. Our walk home was super fun because we were able to chill with many of the kids from the village. We got home and played games with the children at Amazing Grace for the remainder of the afternoon, it was good bonding time. Just before dark I went back to town with Obu and Joseph (two of the older boys), trying to find the internet. I swear it never works. We finally found the one computer in the whole town that had internet. It took me forever just to send out one email but I finally got it done. It took so long I felt that we probably had missed dinner so I took the boys to a restaurant nearby so they could get some solid food. They were totally ecstatic to get meat and soda; I was very glad to see them smile. We got back just in time for our late night singing and concluded the night singing and playing games.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb