Amazing Grace


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I awoke so early it was still dark out. As I sat and prayed the orphanage slowly came alive with the young girls sweeping the entire area. Even though I has already heard, I am still amazed at how dedicated and hard working the ladies are. As time moves on the rest of the children trickle out of their tukuls (small huts) and begin by brushing their teeth with small sticks from the trees then getting to their chores. Not a single one complains or even thinks of making an excuse. As I am sitting here and have been continuing to read through Ephesians and Philippians; the Lord has really placed on my heart the desire to live fully in Christ and be above reproach. This is a big challenge for someone who struggles with purity and being ultimately fulfilled in Christ. I undeniably know that the Lord wants to work on me in that area. As we all gather for breakfast, we being discussing life and how we see Christ. It is a good conversation and fun to hear everyone’s point of view. After breakfast we begin preparing for lunch. Edwin and Lasu are going to cook for us. Enter the chicken. It is a fun process and everyone gets to participate in the slaughter. Edwin starts working on the chapatti, a crepe like pancake. We enjoy lunch and relax most of the afternoon, just getting to know the people more and learn their ways. We then head off to town to get cooking supplies and to use the internet. No luck on either. We come back, bathe and get ready for supper. After supper we sat down with Mama Susan and she shared about how the orphanage got started and some of the issues they have. The story of its beginning is incredible and only God could orchestrate something like that. We also heard from Ben Lodiong about the costs of keeping the orphanage going. My first idea was about sponsorship for each child, I believe many of the needs will be met through that. Then extra costs and new projects can be supported by churches and private donors who share our burden for the physically poor. The night was very emotional because many of the stories are beyond imaginable and the atrocities that the people face are unfathomable. We also learned that since the rains came late, all the food had gone up in price and they were not able to feed the children properly. If you know me at all, you will know that once I hear something about the injustice of children my heart and brain switch into high gear; that’s exactly what happened. I know that God has programmed me in a way to be used as a voice for change, a voice for the voiceless. This is my burden in life and I carry it with great pride. My prayer is that Christ will give me a vision for the future and will anoint me necessary characteristics needed for obtain that vision. After everyone finished crying we all retired to our rooms.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb