Traveling


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We got up at the butt crack of dawn, boarded the van full of all sorts of stuff and about twelve people, thus beginning our long bumpy adventure to Adjumani, Uganda. We stopped many times along the way to purchase bush rat on a stick, Casavas, two live chickens whom accompanied us for the rest of the way, Bananas, Pineapples and various other goods. Most bumpy ride ever. I actually did manage to sleep though it was rough. Driving along this road I finally realized I am in Africa. This road stretched on forever and I’ve never seen so many kids. There were thousands of people chillin along the road, it was incredible. I definitely don’t think they’ve seen too many white people because everyone was staring at us like we were out of place. We finally arrived at Amazing Grace Orphanage in Adjumani, it is a gorgeous place and the people take great pride in what they own. We were greeted by a chorus of singing children; it was a beautiful sight. We were so humbled that these kids who know nothing about us would welcome us with such warmth. We spent the rest of the afternoon playing with the kids and learning their games/songs. Around dusk Raveesh, Lasu, Edwin, Joseph (a young boy from the orphanage) and I walked into town. It was awesome to be amongst the people of the village and greet them with their native tongue, many of which just laughed to hear us speak. I also enjoyed being able to be on their level rather than the separation I felt from being on the minivan. Being on the ground level is where my heart thrives. This walk was a good opportunity to meet Lasu’s friends and see how people interact. I am so excited to be apart of everyone’s life and create friendships with them. For example, I love their handshake. Handshake then quick slip to a hand clasp and back to handshake. After strolling through town we headed back and sat down to dinner with the rest of the group. The kids then serenaded us with some awesome songs that Lasu had written for them. They asked us to sing some songs as well, so we did and it was a great evening. Before dinner, Raveesh and I took some stellar showers in the moonlight (not with each other but next to each other of course). I definitely can get used to this especially since it is always warm out. I have been pondering the next year and feel very excited for it. I think my skills will be useful for trying to establish Lahash as a thriving global ministry. I feel a real bond with Edwin and Lasu; I believe we can create a great partnership between here and people at home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb