short stories and freaky facts


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
June 11th 2007
Published: June 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

1. i saw my first traffic light here in Stone Town the other day. But they do have Traffic controller people in Arusha that help direct traffic.

2. minibuses are the preferred vehicle for offroading. I can't even count the number of roads we have been on in a minbus that i wouldn't even attempt in my SUV. crazy!

3. Cows perfer garbage over grain, and banana leafs too.

4. 100 year old tortoises like iceberg lettuce.

5. Tanzania - the name was chosen when the mainland and Zanzibar joined to form 1 country. TAN from the former Tanganika, ZAN from Zanzibar, I from the name of the first president of Tanganika, A from the first president of Zanzibar.

6. There are over 120 different tribes in Tanzania.

7. I turned down a sip of goat's blood from a Masaai Warrior. I'll have to tell you all about the day we spent with the Masaai - very cool!

8. I can't get rid of my farmer's tan - new strategy tomorrow.

9. Cinnamon is a tree. the spice comes from the tree's bark. tastes great peeled right off the tree.

10. avocados grow on huge trees too.

Advertisement



11th June 2007

Blood
You are awesome Heather!!! I love your little blog entries. I'm a little disappointed in your lack of adventure re: goat's blood, though. I would have been all over that.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb