Mind blowing....so many wild animals


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Serengeti National Park
August 7th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We got up for breakfast around 6.00am and headed towards the crater. The crater was formed after a volcanic eruption and now has lots of different types of animals in it. We were told this would be our best opportunity to see a rhino, however this didn’t happen. We did get to see lots of other animals though and the jeeps were great as we got to stand up through the roof for most of the safari. Seeing so many wild animals is truly incredible in their natural habitat.

After the crater we headed towards the Serengeti and did a game drive on the way to our campsite, which was in the reserve itself (this was something I didn’t know until I got to Africa, I promise Mum, however when I found out I decided not to tell Mum until I had survived the night). The thought of staying in the reserve did make me quite nervous especially as we seen a pride of lions quite close to where we would be staying, however I was reassured by everyone else in the group telling me we would be fine. I was pleased when we got there to see quite a few other tents, and there was also shower and toilet facilities so it wasn’t quite as I had imagined, I thought we would be staying literally in the middle of the bush! We got fed that night, spaghetti Bolognese again which doesn’t seem very African and seems a very popular option for the cooks. I made sure not to drink too much that day so I wouldn’t have to get up in the middle of the night and Chris and I headed back to the tent to discover it was raining quite heavily and without our raincover our tent had got quite wet – not the best nights sleep, with the rain and the random animal noises going on in the background.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb