Packing for 10 Years!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 3rd 2006
Published: July 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

How do you pack for 10 years? Anyone?

The container carrying everything we own except for what is in 4 suitcases, leaves port here in the US and heads across the ocean to somewhere near lower Europe, then docks; either unloads and reloads to another ship, or the boat just refuels to continue the jouney to Africa. It will take approximately 6 weeks to physically get there. Then it must go through the customs and clearing agents hands before it can leave the docks and head to our new home. This could take weeks. The most recent container left America in the middle of Jan and did not arrive to it’s final destination until the END OF MAY!!!!! 4 and 1/2 months!!!!!!

So - having said that, I must pack my 4, 50 pound suitcases wisely, as that is all I will have with me to function until we are able to get into our container. A possible 5 months!! That is 4 total … not 4 for me and 4 for Anthony ….. 

Not to mention the fact that we have to have everything packed and to the shipper about a week before it even leaves the US …. So, worst case scenario I could be living out of my suitcases for 4 - 6 months!!!! So … what to pack on the boat … and what to pack in my suitcase? Yes, it's a delima. Do I sacrifice fashion?? Do I wear the same pair of shoes with every outfit? Emelda would be dizzy at this point! Or do I take one of Anthony's suitcases and have 3 for me and one for him? After all, guys don't have near the variety of clothing that women do, right?

Let's just calculate - casual shoes, athletic shoes, heels, and then houseshoes. Coordinate skirts, slacks and blouses, like in the magazines and get 4,323 looks out of 6.7 pieces of clothing. Make-up can be simple - only a small corner of the suitcase needed here. Hair? Let's see, color enhancer shampoo, conditioner, gray touch up kit (OBVIOUSLY NOT for me … for Anthony), toner, frizz release, curl enhancer, straightening iron, hair spray, pony tail holder, clips, brush, and comb. Simple enough. Next - accessories - who would dare go out un-accessorized!? HA! Belts, scarfs, jewelry, purses, coats and jackets. Next - unmentionables. Done. What's left? Bible, notebook, Swahili study materials and the ever needed Sudoku puzzle. WHEW …that leaves one whole suitcase for my Mt. Dew! I'm in good shape and ready to roll. YEEHAW!

But serioulsly, Let's face it …. We all know we can survive with a t-shirt, pair of jeans, change of undies, one pair of shoes (doesn’t really matter what kind as long as they stay on your fee), a pack of gum - preferably Super Bubble bubble gum, and a roll of duct tape. So … what's the delima?

The delima is … I am a mom and am use to having everything I need at my fingertips. I keep an emergency kit at my desk at work … why, just in the last month I have provided fellow workers with benadryl, saftey pins, and dental floss! My sisters are the same way - when Tammy came with me to Africa two summers ago, she was so prepared that if the plane had a flat on the runway she had fix-a-flat in her carryone to repair it!! Not really, but she did carry her duct tape with her! But I need to feel prepared for emergencies and just how prepared can you be with only 2 suitcases? Especially when there are sooo many things that are not allowed on the plane anymore for security reasons. Now, don't get me wrong - I am glad security has tightened up - I want to be safe the entire journey. And I totally appreciate the airlines efforts. You will never see me sorry that they have body checks, searches, or detain questionable folks. Even if they detain me - if it is in my best interest I am all for it … But there are some things you wonder why they are restricted - a leaf blower? A LEAF BLOWER ….. are you going to have one that is sooo powerful it would change the direction of the plane? ??? These are questions I some times ask myself … rarely do I ask them out loud.

So, maybe the space in my 2 suitcase would be better utilized if I packed, ducttape (a dozen rolls - varying colors), Q-tips, 2 yards of fabric (who knows what can be made with two whole yards!), 3 tubes toothpaste … this is a multipurpose cleaner, putty, and mouthfreshener in one, 4 rolls of dental floss - doubles as thread for many uses while helping prevent plaque (waxed of course), Black permanent markers - we all know they will literally write on anything! And Permanent takes on a whole new meaning!, sunscreen - 60 SPF, cotton balls and pertroleum jelly (a man on a survivor show said these were a must - not sure why - maybe we'll never have to find out), snickers bars (protein and sugar the two main food groups), pad of paper (can also be a form of fiber if needed), your Bible (Obvious reason), and of course a map (so you know where you don't want to go as much as where you are going). This still leaves me one whole suitcase for - what else - Mt. DEW!!

Hey … I've turned into McGyver! … and not a single thing on my list would show up on the exray machine if the Mt. Dew was in bottles! It'd look like I was carrying an empty suitcase!!

Oh no … what if my two suitcases, so carefully packed, end up in Mongolia? They could build a shopping mall and sell Mt. Dew!!

Guess I need to work on what to pack in my carry on ……


Advertisement



4th July 2006

Shasta, you are so funny. and you know that Stephanie has everything you would want here, just borrow hers. ha.ha. I've got plenty of sunscreen, etc. I believe I saw mt dew just the other day (in cans!) With all of our children we got to bring more suitcases on the plane. But the extra luggage was also a pain. Can't wait for you to arrive. Trina
5th July 2006

love this
shasta, this is a greatdea. only you could have thought this up, and made it very entertaining. keep up the good writing. love you all tremendously.
10th July 2006

Duct Tape
Remember the time we traveled to South Bend for our day with Rory. My luggage broke shortly before our departure. Thankfully the administrative assistant at the training center was able to provide tape (not nearly as durable as duct tape....why didn't I have duct tape?). You wrapped my luggage about seventy-five times with that roll of tape. My luggage survived that way until we arrived back in Nashville, although it took about an hour to get all that tape off. Point being, I am confident you can survive with the most minimal of possessions....but take the duct tape just in case.

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0965s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb