Sunny Marrakech


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Marrakech
January 21st 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunny Marrakech

You can tell I'm slowly becoming a Pom when the thought of a few days of blue skies and 20'c maximum temps is like heaven on earth! Absolutely loved the sun in Marrakech and spent as much time in the sun as I could and even got a little sun burnt (yes bad I know but oh so good!).

Marrakech as a holiday destination is definitely on the up and up with a fancy new airport soon to open, heaps of development going on and more cheap flights from UK/Europe bringing hundreds of tourists to the city - give it a few years and I think it will be one of the more popular sunny weekend breaks.

The flight over was pretty spectacular with views of Portugal, Spain, the Rock of Gibraltar etc. Once in Marrakech, I attempted to make my way to my hostel (without a proper map), naturally got lost, walked around aimlessly for a while (which I was fine with me as I was in the Souk/shopping area) and then fell victim to a tourist scam!

As I was soon to learn, everyone in Marrakech is out to make money, not in a bad way but it’s just how they survive. So this guy could tell I was lost, suggested I come look at the tannery and so I thought I would take a quick peep and hope to find my hostel at the same time. Before long I was being toured around the tannery crowded with camel and cow skins in vats of dies etc (remember this is a vego here so it was a tad off putting!!!) and then got taken to the shop where I was shown all manner of leather goods and rugs. Took forever to ween my way out of buying a £1000 rug (seriously ...) but then got guilted into paying my 'tour guide' $10 and the 'introducer' another $10 ... oh well lessen learnt!

After doing one of the open bus tours of the city, I headed into the Jemaa, the main square, which is a huge open area surrounded by restaurants and shops and is filled with row upon row of outdoor eateries, snake charmers, orange juice vendors, jewellery/crap stalls, street performers and all other number of things. To say the least, the whole area is a buzz with activity and the sights and sounds of it all create a lot of atmosphere.

Didn't get a proper sleep thanks to the tiny bed (by far the worst hostel I've ever stayed at) and the street partying, the midnight prayer call followed by the 6am prayer call ... still at least I was up early to start my first proper day in the city.

Met a guy (a German studying in Liverpool) at breakfast who was also staying in my dorm, as he was heading into the mountains, I, and another guy also from Germany but studying in Spain, decided to join along. The taxi ride there took over an hour and involved winding roads with many blind corners and a few hairy moments indeed.

The scenery was pretty amazing with lots of red rock, green shrubbery and steep cliffs (elements of the Australian outback and perhaps the Himalayas - a feeling enhanced by the sherpas and their livestock dotted around the place). Most impressive of all were the Atlas Mountains with peaks covered in snow (strangely despite the warm weather, the 3,000m plus mountains also contain a decent ski field) that provided a stunning backdrop to the journey.

After numerous stops to take photos, we arrived at the tiny village of Imli which is as far up as you can get (3,000m odd) unless you take a donkey near the top of Jebel Toubkal (the highest peak in Northern Africa at 4,167m). A lovely lunch, a little shopping and a relaxing sunbathing session and then it was time to head back to the city centre (the ride back being almost as scary as the way up).

That night we went on a search for s 'Shisha' water pipe, after being led on several wild goose chases, after a couple of hours we finally found a cool place full of locals sitting around drinking tea (and even a little alcohol), doing Karaoke Arabic style and smoking their water pipes (totally normal tobacco mind you). Not being much of a smoker, it wasn't really my think but strangely the place didn't smell of smoke and the feeling was not at all like smoking a cigarette.

Next day I decided to join Julian (Liverpool guy) and take the train to Casa Blanca (no I've not seen the movie and have no intention to, Maria!). After the four train journey (admittedly through some interesting countryside and farm lands) we arrived in Casa Blanca which is basically a big, ugly city with seemingly little character especially compared to the magic of Marrakech. The city’s only redeeming feature appears to be the world’s third biggest mosque (whoop-de-doo).

Planned to catch the last train back to Marrakech that night but somehow managed to catch the wrong train and had to back track, spend an hour at one station, finally making it back to Casa Blanca having missed the last train. Stuck for somewhere to crash, went to the hostel my mate was staying at and naughtily snuck in and slept in one of the free beds in his dorm. More dramas unfolded in the morning (hostel curfews, delayed trains etc) but I finally made it back to Marrakech at 1pm probably smelling a little (sleeping in your clothes, 30 hours with no shower and warm temps don’t make a pleasant combination).

Cruised around the city the rest of the day, did some shopping (dodgy DVDs and sweets for works), walked to La Menara (a large old pool surrounded by olive trees) and the it was time to head to the airport and back home to Manchester.

So Marrakech was a fun trip, can sum the place up as good weather, bustling city, crazy roads (taxis, horses, bikes and people everywhere), impressive views and rip off merchants.

This Friday I have my first gig in 5 weeks (amazing I know), Dublin (free flight) on Saturday and Sunday for another gig, arrive Monday morning and go straight to work from the airport (arghh) and then gigs Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday - so a busy week ahead.

Hope you are all well and that the Perthites are coping with the heat.

Pete


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



23rd January 2008

Casablanca...a legendary movie
Your taste in movies is seriously flawed by friend!!! I'll only say this...Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman - 3 oscars. That's it, I'm going....you've upset me. Only Rhett and Scarlett can fix this now, and don't you dare tell me you don't know about them.

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb