Goodbye Essaouira......


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Essaouira
November 30th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at 930am after the late night out and went back to the hotel. Wanted to go to the Portugese fort but it was shut. Instead climbed a few building to get good panoramic views of the city. The best view of Essaouira is from the terrace of Majestic hotel which I came across quite by chance. The only building taller than this is the mosque and obviously you can’t et there. Only the loudspeakers are fixed there. I called one of the friends I met yesterday Aziz as promised and we were going to meet at 1pm. I work on Sri Lanka time hehehe so I met him at 115pm, actually that is a vast improvement on Sri Lankan time. He came with a friend of his Youssef who is a french teacher in a small village as well as a poet and painter. All of Aziz’s friends are arty people. We went for a coffee and then walked about a little. Thereafter we took a bus to Sidi Kaouki a small village by the sea, a secluded peaceful beach. We had food and coffee and these guys have been payiong for everything and I insisted that I paid. We walked along the beach taking funny pictures.

I met this French gentleman who was travelling in a caravan with his wife and dog. They have also been to Sri Lanka. I am soo hapy that everyone who I meet who have visited Sri Lanka has a very good feeling about the country. They have parked outside the beach and that’s where they hangout till they feel like leaving.

We took a taxi back to Essaouira and afterwards I hurried to the bus station to get a bus to Marrakesh which cost me Dhm40.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Sidi KoukiSidi Kouki
Sidi Kouki

Tajines...a Moroccon dish....


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb