Beautiful port city of Essaouira and oh what a night......


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Essaouira
November 29th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

EssaouiraEssaouiraEssaouira

Apple vendor
Woke up around 830am had the hotel breakfast which is included in the price of the dorm...they served bread, omlette, creps, yogurt, orange juice and coffee. Afterwards I put my backpack into a locker room and left to Essaouira which took approx 3.5hrs. The guy at the bus station said its Dhm45 and then i said the guidebook says 35 then he said thats without luggage and i said i dont have luggage hence I paid 35.

In Moroccon buses you pay for your ticket and if you have luggage you got to pay separately to the guy who puts the luggage into the bus. Normally he would ask for Dhm10 but then you got be firm and say I normally pay Dhm5. He would complain and start haggling but then you got to stick to your Dhm 5 and more often than not you get away with paying Dhm5.

En-route Marakesh to Essaouira is quite barren hardly anything to comment. Essaouira itself is a beautiful small port city. The alleys are much different to Marak, there is a Portugese port. At the time I went the boats had just returned with their daily catch or so I think
EssaouiraEssaouiraEssaouira

Fish market
considering there were tons of fish, crabs, cuttle fish all over the place.

I got a single room at Hotel Majestic for Dhm70/=. I saw one Moroccan girl in a short/mini skirt which I have never seen before in Morocco. I met this guy Jawad in an antiue shop. He first asked me from where I am from and when I said Sri Lanka, he asked me what do I believe in for which I replied in the buddhist phylosophy. To this he said he is quite interested and showed me a yoga book. He then asked about Buddha and his life story and asked many questions from me.

Later we went and had dinner and mint tea. The place we had dinner was a simple off the street Moroccan cafe and I had an omlette. When they brought the bill the omlette was like Dhm40. This is probably the most expensive omlette I have had in my life, imagine almost GBP3 or even worse LKR750. I could have bought a hen fed her for about 2 months and eaten 60 eggs for that price. Now I wonder if this guy was a rip off and he took
EssaouiraEssaouiraEssaouira

Fish market and Portuguese fort background
me to this kind of off the street café. His bill was like Dhm10 cause he had some sandwich and I even offered to pay his bill but he said no its ok.

Well I guess while walking in the streets, I started chatting with this shopkeeper and he said that there were some people who would become your friend, say they share your interests and then rip you off. But the funny part is this guy didn’t come up to me, I went to his shop and started talking with him. Guess in Morocco anything is possible.

Did my emailing and I went to Hotel Des Isles to checkout whatever the nightlife this city has. I am writing my blog in a bar a few people about 8 men and 4 women. One really beautiful Morrocan lady is drinking beer and smoking a cigarette should I go and talk to her. One thing I know is if I do I am gonna get ripped off. Think i'll stick to my orange juice and keep writing.

While having my orange juice I decided that it is safer to talk to the bunch of guys as the bar
EssaouiraEssaouiraEssaouira

Big crab in the fish market
rather than the woman. There were 3 guys Saeed, Aziz and another friend. As usual talk about muslim hospitality, from respectable locals as opposed to hagglers and shop keepers who want to rip you off, is one of the finest I have seen in the world. I found this in Pakistan and Iran as well. I can safely say I will travel in any muslim country without worrying at all. Being Sri Lankan its quite funny they do have a lot of respect for our nationality probably because of our in the fence attitude and not getting involved. I still stuck to my oranje juice which Saeed insisted on buying and then after awhile we decided to move to the other part of the hotel where the discotheque was. The music was 99.9% arabic with a brief Shakira and other english artist doing small fillers and loads of pretty women.

I asked one of them to dance and she asked if I speak arabic or french and I said no and she was a little hesitant to dance but when i said I amm from London her face lit up and she danced with me. We danced for a
EssaouiraEssaouiraEssaouira

Sea gulls
couple of songs and went and sat down she in her table and I went back to my friends.

One of my friends were like you can invite her for the night and I said are you mad and besides I dont have a place cause I have a single room for which he said you can bring her to my place.

Here's the story, all these women I later found out are whores working for the hotel. The idea is you dance with them call them to your table by them drinks which is usually beer and then after the party invite them home do your thing and pay them. They drink some strange beer because considering the amount of beer they drink they should get drunk pretty soon then you probably don’t have to pay at all hehe being cheeky but no then just don’t get high.

The beautiful woman I mentioned earlier in the bar she was the hottest woman there and had the best cleavage and oh mama mia they were nice !!!! she looked bored with the people she was with and my friends somehow got her to our table. She would
EssaouiraEssaouiraEssaouira

Sea gulls eating fish in the harbour
have drunk about 10 bottles of beer but I must admit these bottles are half the size of a 300ml and 5.25% alcohol. Hence no one seems to get drunk. I ordered a litre bottle of water and was pissing like a fire hydrant every 15mins. One of my friends told me that she would like to go home with me and I asked him, okay this is strange so whats the catch then he said you take her to my place and then traditionally we pay and its going to be around Dhm400. Not bad I must say £25 and I said I never have and never will pay for this kind of thing he said this is the Moroccon tradition and that traditionally we pay and I said traditionally I don’t pay. Anyway thats when I found out how it works here.
This is a bit like Arif castle and Imperial suites in Dubai back in 2001 where every woman in those hotels are whores. You negotiate a price and go home there is no buying drinks business. In Morocco the whole exercise doesn’t seem like a whore scene, seems a bit more personal in my opinion. Anyway
EssaouiraEssaouiraEssaouira

Live shell
the bottom line is I aint gonna pay for this shit.

At 4am the disco ended and this woman who had been with us the whole night was pretty pissed off with us cause we kept her with us and didnt take her home and she couldnt find ayone else either cause she was with us. I dont know if my friends mentioned to her that I did not need her services before or whether they just waited till the last minute until the party ended to say it.

After the party we went to the “Pilawoos” equivalent (“Pilawoos” is a place that most partygoers in Colombo, Sri Lanka goto have a meal after partying and the place is open 24 hours). Over here it’s a place called Afrique. Essentially a restaurant in a service station which is open 24hours. However Afrique lacks the dirtiness and smell of “Pilawoos” and the food is not that great either, even worse for me. Since I am vegetarian its that much harder to find food. After Afrique I went with my friends to their house and I slept at abt 530am. Oh what a night…



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Panoramic view of Essaouira city
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Panoramic view of Essaouira city
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

People watching
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

People watching
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

People watching
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

People watching
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Harbour
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Harbour
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Harbour
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

View of Portugues port from harbour
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Medina square
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Medina square
EssaouiraEssaouira
Essaouira

Alleys of Essaouira with a Moroccon girl in a mini-skirt which is a very rare sight....


Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb