Last night in Jo-berg and Lilongwe


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Central » Lilongwe
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry so much in one go.
This is the first internet I’ve had in a month and for that reason I am going to let dad be solely in charge of the blog so he can do it when he gets back home.


Sun 29th
It was 11pm by the time I’d left Paul going through security and I went outside to phone the airport backpackers for my free pickup. I’d clearly woken her up and there was some confusion over where I was supposed to meet the pick up. Eventually I had to walk to the domestic flights area at the other end of the airport where there was a taxi waiting for me. When I arrived she told me I had to pay for the transfer as it was after hours- why she didn’t just tell me to get in a taxi when I phoned for the pick up I’ve no idea.

Thursday 3rd May
On Monday I flew to Lilongwe- the capital of Malawi and got a taxi to Kiboko Lodge where I was met by a smiling Janey which was a relief. I have mainly just relaxed at the lodge. In the evening watching the football with some of the teachers from the local international school. I was a bit worried about sorting out my plans to get to the island but yesterday a couple (Leen and Steve) came and are getting the ferry up to Nakata bay and seem to be very organized so I will just follow them, as I did to buy tickets yesterday and today to the tobacco auction house. Tom another traveler joined us on this adventure as well. It is a very large hall full of sacks of tobacco which are torn open for the buyers to inspect and little groups of 5 buyers go up and down the rows at high speed somehow deciding who is buying each bag and at what price. Tobacco is one of Malawi’s major exports (or the only one).



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb